Author Topic: Hi  (Read 1959 times)

Offline bluesphx

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Hi
« on: July 21, 2004, 07:10:55 PM »
Hi, I liked OP1 better and need some help getting it to run on my new box.  Anyhelp would be great.  Im a newbie here so I hope I can help some of you too.

xfir

  • Guest
Hi
« Reply #1 on: July 21, 2004, 07:18:29 PM »
Welcome to the forums.

What OS is your new box running?

Offline CK9

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6247
    • http://www.outpost2.net/~ck9
Hi
« Reply #2 on: July 21, 2004, 08:16:57 PM »
ooo, game adaptation, something I actually know, lol
CK9 in outpost
Iamck in runescape (yes, I still play...sometimes...)
srentiln in minecraft (I like legos, and I like computer games...it was only a matter of time...) and youtube...
xdarkinsidex on deviantart

yup, I have too many screen names

Offline plymoth45

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1091
Hi
« Reply #3 on: July 22, 2004, 11:38:30 PM »
well, works fine for me all the way up to XP Pro, haven't tried XP Home yet.

Offline Kiith Somtaaw

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 629
Hi
« Reply #4 on: July 23, 2004, 11:47:56 AM »
Works fine and All Operating Systems, Well it does for me anyway.

I'm using XP Pro, and it's OK.


 

Offline Tellaris

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 461
Hi
« Reply #5 on: July 27, 2004, 02:54:46 PM »
Is it windows based?   I've never played OP1 before.   If its DOS based, you can get emulators that will allow it to run better on windows.   If its Windows based, even 95, it should work on even XP.   Maybe bad download/install?   Happens occasionally.
Spell Checker!   The PoWeR tOoL
Click Here For Coolness
Self Proclaimed OPU Help desk.

Offline BlackBox

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3101
Hi
« Reply #6 on: July 29, 2004, 08:07:27 AM »
It's a win3.1 game. It *should* run on XP (you may have to right click the exe and set it to Win95 compatibility mode, however)

For running it on XP Home / XP Pro, there's no difference. the kernels of both are exactly the same (pro just has more network-admin type of crap in it)

Btw Baikon.. it's a joke getting most good DOS games to run on XP.. what you gotta do is make a dos bootdisk with CD, mouse, and sound and boot directly to dos, and run the game.

Offline Ben362

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 14
Hi
« Reply #7 on: July 29, 2004, 04:48:57 PM »
yes XP hates DOS based applications.   (thumbsdown)  

Offline PlayingOutpost0-24

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 545
    • http://op3np.xfir.net
Hi
« Reply #8 on: July 30, 2004, 10:18:13 PM »
And i hate when XP hates DOS. but no problem, i have a floppy supporting CD, sound, mouse, but i only have 1 game needing it...
Great news for OP2 fans... OP3 in progress.
Official Site
Outpost 3: A New Power progress
OP3:NP Discussion

Progress in OP3:NP[/size][/font]
PLANNING[|||||||||-]
GRAPHICS [||||------]
SOUNDS [|---------]
MAP DESIGNING [|||||-----]
CODING [----------]
Going slowly... Very slow.

Offline plymoth45

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1091
Hi
« Reply #9 on: July 30, 2004, 10:31:38 PM »
well, about the only game i can't play anymore that i really loved is WC3

Offline Tellaris

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 461
Hi
« Reply #10 on: July 30, 2004, 10:48:14 PM »
Warcraft or Wing Commander?
Spell Checker!   The PoWeR tOoL
Click Here For Coolness
Self Proclaimed OPU Help desk.

Offline PlayingOutpost0-24

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 545
    • http://op3np.xfir.net
Hi
« Reply #11 on: July 30, 2004, 10:56:09 PM »
Warcraft and Wing Commander both work on my XP
 
Great news for OP2 fans... OP3 in progress.
Official Site
Outpost 3: A New Power progress
OP3:NP Discussion

Progress in OP3:NP[/size][/font]
PLANNING[|||||||||-]
GRAPHICS [||||------]
SOUNDS [|---------]
MAP DESIGNING [|||||-----]
CODING [----------]
Going slowly... Very slow.

Offline Betaray

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2902
Hi
« Reply #12 on: August 04, 2004, 07:03:01 PM »
I had this wierd problem with op1, the bottom of the reshurch trees would never show up, everything else would work fine, but I could never reshurch any of the social sciences, I wonder why
I am the nincompoop, I eat atomic bombs for breakfest, fusion bombs for lunch, and anti-matter bombs for dinner

I just hope they don't explode

Offline Kiith Somtaaw

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 629
Hi
« Reply #13 on: August 05, 2004, 10:59:50 AM »
How Rare.


I can Research the entire tree on my computer,

Hmm

Try installing it again.
But I doubt it would work.