Author Topic: OP2 Winsock replacement  (Read 11716 times)

Offline BlackBox

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3093
OP2 Winsock replacement
« Reply #25 on: February 25, 2004, 07:55:29 PM »
I wish I knew where the cheats were stored in the game.... Probably self modifying code.

If I can do it, I'm going to write the OP2Sock with anti cheat technology built in (ie. it will detect the cheat code and either not let it work, or maybe even disconnect the player or something if it's used.)

Edit: I may warn people if they post cheats.
« Last Edit: February 25, 2004, 07:55:48 PM by op2hacker »

Offline Luweeg64

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 280
    • http://gcuco.netfirms.com
OP2 Winsock replacement
« Reply #26 on: February 25, 2004, 09:51:37 PM »
Quote

I will enforce a moderator query on you if you continue to post like you have been Luweeg.

Cheats can easily destroy a game. For instance, if you were playing against someone you know you could beat and suddenly you look over and they have a massive army of tigers when you don't even have Rare Ore and they don't even have trucks going to their smelters, wouldn't you say that its a bit out of balance?
1st moderator query.....ok i'm lost again

2nd it may not be fair, but it would be funny, just like in cs when you see a guy flying around and walking through walls and getting a headshot from 50 yrds with a ak

3rd (garrett i told you the democrats were coming) . . . i'm lost again

4th like anyone could read my unusual text anyway
« Last Edit: February 25, 2004, 09:59:48 PM by Luweeg64 »

Offline BlackBox

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3093
OP2 Winsock replacement
« Reply #27 on: February 26, 2004, 03:17:24 PM »
A moderator query is when we have to go thru the work of previewing all of your posts before they can show up in the forums.

Offline selfdestruct

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 85
OP2 Winsock replacement
« Reply #28 on: February 26, 2004, 05:33:32 PM »
ok im at loss, how do we know if some one is using a cheat and that the other person does not cheat, this is unfair to the people that do not cheat and thoughs have the advantage of knowing the cheats and using them.

Back on topic will this work with all operating systems, and how far has it been to geting it working so far?
 
OUTPOST OBSESSION IS CONTAGIOUS

Offline Sirbomber

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3236
OP2 Winsock replacement
« Reply #29 on: April 21, 2004, 04:21:26 PM »
So, any updates? Just wondering since it's been about 3 months since the last post.
"As usual, colonist opinion is split between those who think the plague is a good idea, and those who are dying from it." - Outpost Evening Star

Outpost 2 Coding 101 Tutorials

Phantom

  • Guest
OP2 Winsock replacement
« Reply #30 on: April 21, 2004, 04:26:44 PM »
I've been wondering the same thing. I can't play until I get that update. And believe me, I've tried everything else.

Offline plymoth45

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1062
OP2 Winsock replacement
« Reply #31 on: April 26, 2004, 09:27:02 AM »
so hacker, how is the winsock rep coming?

Offline BlackBox

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3093
OP2 Winsock replacement
« Reply #32 on: April 26, 2004, 02:29:48 PM »
It's kinda coming. I had yet another "revelation", and hopefully this time it will work.

Btw.. I know a lot of you are probably sick of waiting, and are probably angry at me..... but this is pretty high level programming, and network programming is not my strong point. But I can do it. It's also going to take longer considering this is a solo project.... I am getting no other help for it.
« Last Edit: April 26, 2004, 02:40:51 PM by op2hacker »

Offline plymoth45

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1062
OP2 Winsock replacement
« Reply #33 on: April 27, 2004, 09:22:22 AM »
I am not tired of waiting, cause i'm waiting to get my computer back. Once i have that back i start waiting for the rep

Offline Oprime

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 303
    • http://Moogleforest.net
OP2 Winsock replacement
« Reply #34 on: April 27, 2004, 01:32:50 PM »
Kiith what happened to your comp? Hacker why don't you tell people what times your gonna be on so we can test it?
CPU: AMD Phenom II 940BE
RAM: Patriot Viper 4GB (2GB x2) DDR2 1066Mhz
Motherboard: MSI K9A2 Platinum
Case: Thermaltake Armor Plus+
Power Supply: Themermatake ToughPower 1200Watt PSU
Hard Drive: Fujitsu 15k SAS SCSI 74GB/148GB Raid 0 @ 189MBps
Moniter: LG Flatron 20.1in Widescreen LCD 8ms 1400:1 Contrast ratio w/ F engine
GFX Card: 4 ATI Radeon 4870 1GB GDDR5 CrossFireX
DVD Burners: 2x SONY DVD-RW
Speakers[/b] Logitech Z-5500 505Watt 5.1 Surround
CPU Heatsink[/b]ZeroTerm NV120
OS[/b]Windows Vista Home Premium x64
:P I'm a Hardware freak ><

Offline BlackBox

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3093
OP2 Winsock replacement
« Reply #35 on: April 27, 2004, 02:27:44 PM »
Alright, these are the times that I am on IRC (again, Quakenet channel #outpost2):
All times are Eastern Time (GMT-5).

Mon -- Fri: usually around 4pm - 10pm
Sat: usually not, but sometimes 6pm - 9pm
Sun: usually 3pm - 6pm, then 8:30-9:30pm after that.

Besides that, here are some early op2sock screenshots:


Offline plymoth45

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1062
OP2 Winsock replacement
« Reply #36 on: April 28, 2004, 09:22:41 AM »
Prime, do I look like kiith to you, or have you forgoten all about your old OP2 buddy Plymoth? And it is good to hear that the winsock is almost done.

Phantom

  • Guest
OP2 Winsock replacement
« Reply #37 on: April 28, 2004, 09:24:05 AM »
I too am glad that it is getting done.
Keep up the good work hacker!

Offline Kiith Somtaaw

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 615
OP2 Winsock replacement
« Reply #38 on: April 28, 2004, 12:49:31 PM »
Quote
Kiith what happened to your comp? Hacker why don't you tell people what times your gonna be on so we can test it?

My Computer is fine.


You maybe confusing me with Plymoth.
« Last Edit: April 29, 2004, 10:06:21 AM by Kiith Somtaaw »

Offline Oprime

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 303
    • http://Moogleforest.net
OP2 Winsock replacement
« Reply #39 on: April 28, 2004, 02:28:47 PM »
:ph34r: *smacks his head for being stupid* sorry plymoth45 :P  Nice to hear from you  
CPU: AMD Phenom II 940BE
RAM: Patriot Viper 4GB (2GB x2) DDR2 1066Mhz
Motherboard: MSI K9A2 Platinum
Case: Thermaltake Armor Plus+
Power Supply: Themermatake ToughPower 1200Watt PSU
Hard Drive: Fujitsu 15k SAS SCSI 74GB/148GB Raid 0 @ 189MBps
Moniter: LG Flatron 20.1in Widescreen LCD 8ms 1400:1 Contrast ratio w/ F engine
GFX Card: 4 ATI Radeon 4870 1GB GDDR5 CrossFireX
DVD Burners: 2x SONY DVD-RW
Speakers[/b] Logitech Z-5500 505Watt 5.1 Surround
CPU Heatsink[/b]ZeroTerm NV120
OS[/b]Windows Vista Home Premium x64
:P I'm a Hardware freak ><

Offline BlackBox

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3093
OP2 Winsock replacement
« Reply #40 on: April 28, 2004, 07:43:01 PM »
i can show you some lovely custom error boxes too, maybe the loader too... if I want.

(Yes, it all looks very nice)

Offline Sirbomber

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3236
OP2 Winsock replacement
« Reply #41 on: May 06, 2004, 02:29:56 PM »
So... Any updates?
"As usual, colonist opinion is split between those who think the plague is a good idea, and those who are dying from it." - Outpost Evening Star

Outpost 2 Coding 101 Tutorials

Offline BlackBox

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3093
OP2 Winsock replacement
« Reply #42 on: May 06, 2004, 02:59:45 PM »
Not really..... I've been so busy with other stuff I haven't even touched op2sock.

I'll get back to it within the next few days, tho.

Offline Sirbomber

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3236
OP2 Winsock replacement
« Reply #43 on: June 06, 2004, 07:28:58 AM »
I don't mean to be a nuisance,  :(  but any progress? Just wondering because the last post was what, May 6th?
"As usual, colonist opinion is split between those who think the plague is a good idea, and those who are dying from it." - Outpost Evening Star

Outpost 2 Coding 101 Tutorials

Offline Leviathan

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4055
OP2 Winsock replacement
« Reply #44 on: June 06, 2004, 07:41:13 AM »
Sirbomber if u went on the forum chat room (#outpost2 on QuakeNet IRC) you would know this:

OP2Sock: ~90% done till alpha testing

that is from the topic of the room, a topic is a piece of text users can c and can b set by ops. ppl like me and xfir. it is very usefull for puting info in, like URLs.

Please could all users who read this start using the chat room while there online.
If you are unsure about how to get there go here:
http://www.www.outpostuniverse.net/irc.htm

Next weekend (June 11th - 13th) is our and the forums OP2 Renunion weekend, it will b held at the chat room, so please make sure you are on.  

Offline Sirbomber

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3236
OP2 Winsock replacement
« Reply #45 on: June 10, 2004, 06:38:04 AM »
My computer doesn't seem to want to let IRC to work, and the online version isn't working well either.  :(

Anyways, okay, and I'll try to be on at the reunion thing.
"As usual, colonist opinion is split between those who think the plague is a good idea, and those who are dying from it." - Outpost Evening Star

Outpost 2 Coding 101 Tutorials

Offline BlackBox

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3093
OP2 Winsock replacement
« Reply #46 on: June 10, 2004, 07:35:43 AM »
If you can't connect or if it takes a very long time to connect and you have a router or some other NAT (hubs, gateways, etc...), forward port 113 (TCP) thru to the computer that will be using IRC. (This is the identd port - connects should be much faster)

Offline PlayingOutpost0-24

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 537
    • http://op3np.xfir.net
OP2 Winsock replacement
« Reply #47 on: September 18, 2004, 03:25:00 PM »
from what i heard it is done but not working.
i heard it rite?
Great news for OP2 fans... OP3 in progress.
Official Site
Outpost 3: A New Power progress
OP3:NP Discussion

Progress in OP3:NP[/size][/font]
PLANNING[|||||||||-]
GRAPHICS [||||------]
SOUNDS [|---------]
MAP DESIGNING [|||||-----]
CODING [----------]
Going slowly... Very slow.

Offline Arklon

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1266
OP2 Winsock replacement
« Reply #48 on: September 18, 2004, 03:31:11 PM »
Not working...?

Offline PlayingOutpost0-24

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 537
    • http://op3np.xfir.net
OP2 Winsock replacement
« Reply #49 on: September 18, 2004, 03:33:07 PM »
umm... not confirmed but i heard that...
Great news for OP2 fans... OP3 in progress.
Official Site
Outpost 3: A New Power progress
OP3:NP Discussion

Progress in OP3:NP[/size][/font]
PLANNING[|||||||||-]
GRAPHICS [||||------]
SOUNDS [|---------]
MAP DESIGNING [|||||-----]
CODING [----------]
Going slowly... Very slow.