Author Topic: New Menu Screen  (Read 10366 times)

Offline Monarky2000

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 20
New Menu Screen
« on: January 14, 2010, 01:58:16 AM »
Here I made this for you for the menu screen let me know if you have any idea for this screen. Let me know if you need different sizes. Its also on deviantart if you need another location.

That one you had on there killed me.... sry Tell me what you think

Alright I updated it tell me what you think. Moon is smaller and the starfield has been updated.

EDIT: K well there it is Final! If you like it use it for the menu!

« Last Edit: January 14, 2010, 06:04:14 AM by Monarky2000 »

Offline Hooman

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4924
New Menu Screen
« Reply #1 on: January 14, 2010, 03:24:53 AM »
Hmm, very nice. That's pretty cool looking.


The starry background above the planet is really well done. Same with the part just a little to the left. Farther to the left looked a bit spray paint like a first. It seems like a line of constant thickness snaking through there, almost like someone dragging the mouse with a spray paint tool. Except, nicer looking, and more (subtly) multicolored. Definately an above average job on the stars.

The texture on the smaller planet is also done quite nicely. It looks sort of photographic like. Seems oddly close to the other planet though, like they're going to crash into each other. Come to think of it, that's a pretty big looking moon. Well, I suppose extinction level events are kind of the theme of the Outpost series. ;)

The planet in the front looks somewhat New Terra like. I would perhaps have expected a bit of polar ice though. There are some ice tiles for the polar regions in Outpost 2 after all. Unless that's what's in the center? Hey, if it's space, why not rotate the view. But then, I guess it wouldn't match up with the angle of the sunlight to really be where ice would form. The bottom left looks unusually plain. It seems like there should be more features or roughness there, or something. Actually, it seems a bit odd that most of the planetary features seem to appear in a circular region about what's probably on the equator.


How did you make that image? (Image software package?)
What sort of texturing technique did you use?
How were the stars generated?
 

Offline Monarky2000

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 20
New Menu Screen
« Reply #2 on: January 14, 2010, 03:50:00 AM »
Just photoshop :) You can look on Deviantart.com To see some of the other stuff i have done. I figured this would be much better then the one in the game now lol.

Yeah and the stars i might fix them too. But i did them in photoshop too. Nothing was generated.
« Last Edit: January 14, 2010, 03:52:50 AM by Monarky2000 »

Offline Simpsonboy77

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 168
New Menu Screen
« Reply #3 on: January 14, 2010, 02:08:51 PM »
I kind of like the varied density for the stars. If you look closely at pictures taken above the Earth's atmosphere, globular clusters are there. And they look pretty close to that.

My 1 criticism is I don't care much for the glow around New Terra. I like the idea, but to me that seems like the rushed part of the picture.

Awesome render
My tutorials
Part 1
Part 2
Part 3

Offline Monarky2000

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 20
New Menu Screen
« Reply #4 on: January 14, 2010, 04:41:40 PM »
Thanks man.

Offline Hooman

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4924
New Menu Screen
« Reply #5 on: January 16, 2010, 02:40:47 AM »
Hmm, you've edited to add a twinkle like effect to a few stars. My first thought was you'd need to be looking through an atmosphere with disturbances in it to get that sort of effect. Of course, that's more of a shimmer. Maybe this is more like lense flare. It's neat, but I'm still trying to make up my mind if it's believable.
 

Offline Monarky2000

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 20
New Menu Screen
« Reply #6 on: January 16, 2010, 04:48:38 AM »
Well I like it I think it would make a much better main menu then the one thats on there now.

Offline Celledor

  • Moderator
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 151
    • http://www.veus.se
New Menu Screen
« Reply #7 on: January 21, 2010, 01:44:56 AM »
Hey, I know I haven't been active much but there is a lot of other things going on right now not many lines of code written but a few... I really like it, and it do look better. However the one that is there now was meant to be more living and add to the whole outpost 3d thing.

If giving the main menu scenery more time one cold make it much more like this and still be in 3d, if only there was the time... will add it and see how it works.

Also really like the logo in the corner.

Offline Monarky2000

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 20
New Menu Screen
« Reply #8 on: February 07, 2010, 09:24:48 PM »
Well let me know if you need a certain size umm.. yeah well i thought this looked 3d. maybe i will look at the one thats in there again  

Offline Sirbomber

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3214
New Menu Screen
« Reply #9 on: February 07, 2010, 09:34:11 PM »
Quote
yeah well i thought this looked 3d.
It does, but looking 3D isn't quite the same as actually being 3D.   :P  
"As usual, colonist opinion is split between those who think the plague is a good idea, and those who are dying from it." - Outpost Evening Star

Outpost 2 Coding 101 Tutorials

Offline Monarky2000

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 20
New Menu Screen
« Reply #10 on: March 01, 2010, 10:51:25 PM »
Quote
Quote
yeah well i thought this looked 3d.
It does, but looking 3D isn't quite the same as actually being 3D.   :P
All pictures "look" 3d :P

Offline CK9

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6228
    • http://www.outpost2.net/~ck9
New Menu Screen
« Reply #11 on: March 01, 2010, 11:11:11 PM »
very untrue, nothing 3D looking about a stick figure :P
CK9 in outpost
Iamck in runescape (yes, I still play...sometimes...)
srentiln in minecraft (I like legos, and I like computer games...it was only a matter of time...) and youtube...
xdarkinsidex on deviantart

yup, I have too many screen names

Offline Kayedon

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 378
New Menu Screen
« Reply #12 on: March 01, 2010, 11:13:11 PM »
They're 3d if you have proper lighting/shadows. That, or if you have an obvious fore/back ground.
"Trust me, I'm crazy."

Offline CK9

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6228
    • http://www.outpost2.net/~ck9
New Menu Screen
« Reply #13 on: March 01, 2010, 11:37:46 PM »
...nothing 3D about a 0th dimension dot :P
CK9 in outpost
Iamck in runescape (yes, I still play...sometimes...)
srentiln in minecraft (I like legos, and I like computer games...it was only a matter of time...) and youtube...
xdarkinsidex on deviantart

yup, I have too many screen names

Offline Drakmar

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 250
New Menu Screen
« Reply #14 on: March 25, 2010, 02:59:23 AM »
I really enjoy the image. Really good work. One thing though, the "Eden Insignia" in the logo is backwards. Not sure if that was intentional or not.

Offline Hooman

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4924
New Menu Screen
« Reply #15 on: March 26, 2010, 01:29:20 AM »
*Loads up Outpost 2*
 :o
Wow, you're right. I never noticed that.
 

Offline evecolonycamander

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 602
New Menu Screen
« Reply #16 on: May 19, 2010, 07:39:04 AM »
the image dose not show
sorry bout spelling
edit: yes i know it is dead. just where is the image
« Last Edit: May 19, 2010, 07:40:19 AM by evecolonycamander »
''The blight cant get us up here!''
-famous last words
--------------o0o--------------
Outpost 2: EoM project status: Re-planning

Offline CK9

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6228
    • http://www.outpost2.net/~ck9
New Menu Screen
« Reply #17 on: May 19, 2010, 09:32:17 AM »
well...I wouldn't say backwards...just rotated 1/4 turn clockwise, heh

image is in the top post still.
CK9 in outpost
Iamck in runescape (yes, I still play...sometimes...)
srentiln in minecraft (I like legos, and I like computer games...it was only a matter of time...) and youtube...
xdarkinsidex on deviantart

yup, I have too many screen names

Offline evecolonycamander

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 602
New Menu Screen
« Reply #18 on: May 19, 2010, 10:07:11 AM »
oh now it shows... lol
''The blight cant get us up here!''
-famous last words
--------------o0o--------------
Outpost 2: EoM project status: Re-planning

Offline Monarky2000

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 20
New Menu Screen
« Reply #19 on: June 07, 2010, 12:31:15 AM »
Is it backwards?! wow i must of rotated it too far with out realizing it so is there anything you need me to do to help you get it on the main screen if you want to use it.

Offline Sirbomber

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3214
New Menu Screen
« Reply #20 on: June 07, 2010, 08:22:21 AM »
Mind if I use this for a little project I've been working on?  I was just playing around at first, but it looks so good and now I want to keep it.


"As usual, colonist opinion is split between those who think the plague is a good idea, and those who are dying from it." - Outpost Evening Star

Outpost 2 Coding 101 Tutorials

Offline evecolonycamander

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 602
New Menu Screen
« Reply #21 on: June 09, 2010, 05:43:11 AM »
that looks very good you used Microsoft paint didn't you sirbomber
''The blight cant get us up here!''
-famous last words
--------------o0o--------------
Outpost 2: EoM project status: Re-planning

Offline Sirbomber

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3214
New Menu Screen
« Reply #22 on: June 09, 2010, 06:36:22 AM »
Nope.  I used a resource editor to replace the image in op2shres.dll.
"As usual, colonist opinion is split between those who think the plague is a good idea, and those who are dying from it." - Outpost Evening Star

Outpost 2 Coding 101 Tutorials

Offline evecolonycamander

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 602
New Menu Screen
« Reply #23 on: June 09, 2010, 06:39:58 AM »
cool (thumbsup)
« Last Edit: June 09, 2010, 07:48:11 AM by evecolonycamander »
''The blight cant get us up here!''
-famous last words
--------------o0o--------------
Outpost 2: EoM project status: Re-planning

Offline Sirbomber

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3214
New Menu Screen
« Reply #24 on: June 09, 2010, 07:32:24 AM »
Okay, I was going to upload the modded DLL, but apparently we're no longer allowed to upload Zips, RARs, or DLLs...
« Last Edit: June 09, 2010, 07:37:24 AM by Sirbomber »
"As usual, colonist opinion is split between those who think the plague is a good idea, and those who are dying from it." - Outpost Evening Star

Outpost 2 Coding 101 Tutorials