Author Topic: Removing GP Tube  (Read 1924 times)

Offline Leviathan

Removing GP Tube
« on: April 20, 2005, 05:01:26 PM »
As in the next update, the sheets will be changed back to default, of GP's having a tube.

But hacker has said before i can keep my GP look, so how do i code, for my missions to remove the tube for just that mission...?

Offline Eddy-B

• http://www.eddy-b.com
Removing GP Tube
« Reply #1 on: April 21, 2005, 06:14:06 PM »
you should somehow tell your mission to use an alternate file for building.txt instead of the one used in sheets.vol
Rule #1:  Eddy is always right
Rule #2: If you think he's wrong, see rule #1
--------------------

Outpost : Renegades - Eddy-B.com - Electronics Pit[/siz

Offline Leviathan

Removing GP Tube
« Reply #2 on: April 21, 2005, 06:21:40 PM »
Im not a coder, im a noober :)

Im asking. How?

And is that the only way?

Offline Hooman

• Administrator
Removing GP Tube
« Reply #3 on: April 21, 2005, 07:00:14 PM »
You just need to right memory address. You can then just hardcode a pointer to that address, and use it to overwrite the value. It's not hard to code, only like a line or two, but you need the right address. Also, you should find your way to the right memory location from somewhere fixed in memory. If it's loaded from a file, you'll likely need to use an indirect access, possibly through a few pointers.

The harder part is finding the memory address, or how to obtain the right memory address. I don't recommend a simple memory scan since you won't know if it's in a fixed location or not. If you want to be sure, you kinda need to take a look at the assembly to see how the memory is accessed.

In short, I don't quite have the answer you seek, but I think Hacker was looking into how to find that memory address. Once that's found out, the code should be easy.

Offline Leviathan

Removing GP Tube
« Reply #4 on: April 22, 2005, 06:54:22 AM »