Author Topic: Op2mapper 2.2.1 Released, W/ Bug Fixes  (Read 6499 times)

Offline BlackBox

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3093
Op2mapper 2.2.1 Released, W/ Bug Fixes
« on: November 11, 2005, 06:37:53 PM »
Well, I've decided to fix some nasty bugs and re release the mapper. As well as do a few 'improvements' that allow it to load faster.

The bugs fixed / improvements made are:
  • The code generation functions will now work properly, if the .cpp file doesn't exist in the directory. Also, the templates have been fixed to not include that $$rem line at the bottom (which screws up the compiler, of course).
  • The OP2_ART error that occurred in win9x has been fixed. Also, the art loading code has been improved, so there should be no noticeable delay in loading the art files.
  • The autosave timer did not work properly, it continued to count up even though the autosave time had expired. It now works properly.
  • The mapper will not crash when minimizing the editing tools anymore.
  • The error dialog text is now a bit more brief, and includes information like the OS version (so I can see if an error is OS specific).
A few of you mentioned that the undo button was causing crashes, and 32x32 maps would cause crashes. I was unable to recreate either of this conditions.

You can download the new version here: Download OP2Mapper 2.2.1 (0.97 MB)

Note: if you have problems with the editor, do the following:[ol type=\'1\'][li]Uninstall any existing version of the mapper.[/li][li]Delete the Mapper2.ini in the Mapper directory. Reinstall and try again.[/li][li]If it still fails, check your OP2 installation path, maybe even reinstalling OP2 would help.[/li][li]If it still doesn't work, post a bug report.[/li][/ol]
Many thanks to the people who have submitted bug reports. Also thanks to Lev, for allowing me to VNC into his win98 machine so I could test the mapper on Win9x.

Good luck with the mapper :)
-- op2hacker

Offline Sirbomber

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3237
Op2mapper 2.2.1 Released, W/ Bug Fixes
« Reply #1 on: November 11, 2005, 07:28:12 PM »
Hey, I was wondering if in a later version or something if you could set it so tubes/walls/mines only showed up for a certain player? (so there aren't tubes all over the place for no reason)

So far, no bugs I've seen though. Good job!
"As usual, colonist opinion is split between those who think the plague is a good idea, and those who are dying from it." - Outpost Evening Star

Outpost 2 Coding 101 Tutorials

Offline Leviathan

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4055
Op2mapper 2.2.1 Released, W/ Bug Fixes
« Reply #2 on: November 12, 2005, 05:37:51 AM »
Great work :D

Im sure ill come up with some improvments at some point.

Offline Sirbomber

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3237
Op2mapper 2.2.1 Released, W/ Bug Fixes
« Reply #3 on: November 12, 2005, 11:40:19 AM »
I don't crash the mapper, I crash OP2. Probably because I'm not very good at this. Anyways, I thought of some suggestions to make it easier for the less-talented.
-Make tubes/walls/mines "player-ownable". (Associate them with a player's base so there aren't tubes all over the place if there's less than the max # of players)
-Base/vec/etc config set up like BaseData.h (with separate areas for each players' stuff instead of the current, with everything all over the place)
-Put down Start Locations
-Categorize buildings like OP2 (Factory, Structure instead of Structure Factory, etc.)
-Separate buildings and vehicles.
-Disasters! (I don't think this one's coming for awhile)

That's all I can think of for now.
"As usual, colonist opinion is split between those who think the plague is a good idea, and those who are dying from it." - Outpost Evening Star

Outpost 2 Coding 101 Tutorials

Offline Leviathan

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4055
Op2mapper 2.2.1 Released, W/ Bug Fixes
« Reply #4 on: November 12, 2005, 01:35:32 PM »
Good suggestions, this realy is what we need, people to help suggesting things to improve, on anything, not like the mapper. Its part of the development process. So help us out :)

Oh and im sure hacker loves the work ;)

Offline Harky

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 43
Op2mapper 2.2.1 Released, W/ Bug Fixes
« Reply #5 on: November 13, 2005, 07:04:10 PM »
I just downloaded the mapper2.exe from the news section on opu and it crashes randomly throught operation. The version is 2.2.0. I have managed to reproduce  only one bug which crashes the program. minimizing more than one of the mapping windows causes it to crash wiht an error message . i copied the windows error reporting data file if it is any help.

Harky
« Last Edit: November 14, 2005, 03:19:16 AM by Leviathan »

Offline spirit1flyer

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 621
Op2mapper 2.2.1 Released, W/ Bug Fixes
« Reply #6 on: November 13, 2005, 07:08:05 PM »
check out this link and download the update  ;)  that should clear up your problems
http://forum.outpostuniverse.net/index.php?showtopic=2188
"Until you stalk and overrun You can't devour anyone"


Loyal Xfir supporter

Offline Sirbomber

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3237
Op2mapper 2.2.1 Released, W/ Bug Fixes
« Reply #7 on: November 18, 2005, 08:47:46 AM »
I thought of another one: Wouldn't it be much easier if world maps showed up as such in the mapper? That way you're not bouncing from one side of the map to another.
And speaking of world maps, the code generator still does the (+31,-1) thing, and I'm pretty sure having the +31 is bad on world maps. Might be wrong though, I just figured the game didn't have the padding tiles on the sides.
"As usual, colonist opinion is split between those who think the plague is a good idea, and those who are dying from it." - Outpost Evening Star

Outpost 2 Coding 101 Tutorials

Offline Hooman

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4954
Op2mapper 2.2.1 Released, W/ Bug Fixes
« Reply #8 on: November 18, 2005, 02:21:58 PM »
Lol. I think you're right there. I'm pretty sure there is no padding on around the world maps, so you probably shouldn't be adjusting the x coordinate. I'm not so sure about the y coordinate though.
 

Offline Sirbomber

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3237
Op2mapper 2.2.1 Released, W/ Bug Fixes
« Reply #9 on: November 18, 2005, 09:22:08 PM »
No, I said you need the y coordinate, but not the x one.  
"As usual, colonist opinion is split between those who think the plague is a good idea, and those who are dying from it." - Outpost Evening Star

Outpost 2 Coding 101 Tutorials

Offline HaXtOr

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 423
    • http://www.wtfmoogle.com
Op2mapper 2.2.1 Released, W/ Bug Fixes
« Reply #10 on: November 30, 2005, 01:45:11 AM »
extract all from a vol still crashes

also when you close a file it sholdnt ask you to save changes if you didnt change anything
« Last Edit: November 30, 2005, 07:10:02 AM by Leviathan »

Offline BlackBox

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3093
Op2mapper 2.2.1 Released, W/ Bug Fixes
« Reply #11 on: November 30, 2005, 02:07:24 PM »
Yeah, I agree with that.. I'll have it check if the file's dirty or not.

I'll look into that extract all error as well. I think it only cropped up in the release version, not the debug version.

Offline HaXtOr

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 423
    • http://www.wtfmoogle.com
Op2mapper 2.2.1 Released, W/ Bug Fixes
« Reply #12 on: December 01, 2005, 12:11:27 AM »
another nifty bug i found is that if you open several maps. like 32 of them the program crashes when you start to close them

Offline Tellaris

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 460
Op2mapper 2.2.1 Released, W/ Bug Fixes
« Reply #13 on: December 01, 2005, 03:16:17 PM »
Disasters are trigger related, thus they won't make it in until hacker has some kind of trigger setup in place.
What would be the point of making tubes player ownable?   As far as I can tell, OP2 dosn't care who owns the tubes.
Spell Checker!   The PoWeR tOoL
Click Here For Coolness
Self Proclaimed OPU Help desk.

Offline Sirbomber

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3237
Op2mapper 2.2.1 Released, W/ Bug Fixes
« Reply #14 on: December 01, 2005, 04:00:07 PM »
I meant player-ownable as in they're associated with a player's base. As in, if they aren't there, the tubes aren't either. Which I'm pretty sure I said.
"As usual, colonist opinion is split between those who think the plague is a good idea, and those who are dying from it." - Outpost Evening Star

Outpost 2 Coding 101 Tutorials

Offline BlackBox

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3093
Op2mapper 2.2.1 Released, W/ Bug Fixes
« Reply #15 on: December 01, 2005, 04:26:37 PM »
Yeah, that would be a good idea, so there aren't these random tubes in the middle of the map and no base connected to them.

Also, I plan on making it possible to export / import unit definitions from other maps or data files, as well as having a 'layer' system so you can export chunks of code in 'stages'; that is, you can create separate 'layers' for buildings, fight groups, etc, which make it easier to program fightgroups, mininggroups, etc by segmenting the unit code up like that.

Hope you catch my drift.

BTW Moogle on the 32 map issue: Any other information about the error? It could just be an out of memory issue. I'm not really sure how much memory the editor uses but I'm sure it's not very memory efficient.
« Last Edit: December 01, 2005, 04:27:23 PM by op2hacker »

Offline Hooman

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4954
Op2mapper 2.2.1 Released, W/ Bug Fixes
« Reply #16 on: December 01, 2005, 04:33:51 PM »
I've had an error closing maps, and I only had maybe 6 or so opened.

I've also run into that error with exporting all the files from a .vol.

I'm also getting the sneaking suspicion that I setup that prt stuff but it's stopped working on me. Maybe I just forgot, but I could swear it somehow lost the settings.
 

Offline gamerscd0

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 84
Op2mapper 2.2.1 Released, W/ Bug Fixes
« Reply #17 on: December 03, 2005, 07:03:59 PM »
i had this error when i started the program up

Non-fatal error: Couldn't read OP2_ART files, no unit graphics will be loaded.
Occurred in: ReadPrt

Err = (-2147467259) Automation error
GetLastError() = 0
Erl = 0

Offline Harky

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 43
Op2mapper 2.2.1 Released, W/ Bug Fixes
« Reply #18 on: December 12, 2005, 01:26:08 PM »
Non-fatal error in MapManager::RedrawSelf: Map redrawing failed

Err = (91) Object variable or With block variable not set
GetLastError = 0, Erl = 0

OS Version: NT 5.1 Service Pack 2

I got this error when i opened a map  made it  maximized in the mapper than closed it.. it didnt crash the mapper but it gave me a few warnings.. just letting ya know.

Offline Eddy-B

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1186
    • http://www.eddy-b.com
Op2mapper 2.2.1 Released, W/ Bug Fixes
« Reply #19 on: January 14, 2006, 07:33:44 AM »
There's a minor bug in the new op2mapper:  when placing a tokamak, it's placement is off. The tube-crosssection (=the unit location) is in the bottom-right of the tokamak, NOT in the top-left as it is now.

BTW: same goes for the mine: the originin is at the mine building itself (rightside), not at docking pad (leftside).
« Last Edit: January 14, 2006, 07:47:57 AM by Eddy-B »
Rule #1:  Eddy is always right
Rule #2: If you think he's wrong, see rule #1
--------------------

Outpost : Renegades - Eddy-B.com - Electronics Pit[/siz

Offline HaXtOr

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 423
    • http://www.wtfmoogle.com
Op2mapper 2.2.1 Released, W/ Bug Fixes
« Reply #20 on: February 06, 2006, 03:26:24 PM »
A great idea that should be implimented.

Tabs- for each map that your working on if you have multiple maps.
the mini map should be locked into the map view so that there are not so many windows. It is kind of a pain in the ass with all the windows if you are editing 2 or more maps
Code: [Select]
File     Edit      Ect..
__________________________________________________[-][ ]|X|
| Map 1   |  | Map 2  |  |   Map 3 |  |  |
|\________/   \_______/  \________/   | S|                            
|                                     | C|   Mini Map here    
|                                     | R|                            
|map here...                          | O|                            
|                                     | L|                            
|                                     |  |                            
|                                     | B|_________________
|                                     | A|     Tools              
|                                     | R|     /palet              
|                                     |  |    ect..                      
|                                     |  |                          
|                                     |  |                          
|                                     |  |                          
|                                     |  |
|_____________________________________|__|
|SCROL BAR ___________________________|__|__________________



would it be possible to make the scroll bars work with the mouse wheels?
I have a mouse that has up down left right scrolling on the wheel and it would be nice to be abble to use it

Offline Leviathan

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4055
Op2mapper 2.2.1 Released, W/ Bug Fixes
« Reply #21 on: February 06, 2006, 04:06:24 PM »
There are allready tabs for each map you work on down the bottom. You just get a editor window for each map open intead of one for all.

Offline HaXtOr

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 423
    • http://www.wtfmoogle.com
Op2mapper 2.2.1 Released, W/ Bug Fixes
« Reply #22 on: February 06, 2006, 08:27:14 PM »
No! im saying the mini map and tile set and tools need to be fixed to one window

Offline Arklon

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1267
Op2mapper 2.2.1 Released, W/ Bug Fixes
« Reply #23 on: February 06, 2006, 11:14:28 PM »
Quote
There are allready tabs for each map you work on down the bottom. You just get a editor window for each map open intead of one for all.
The bottom? That's where nobody will ever notice them.

Offline TH300

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1404
    • http://op3game.net
Op2mapper 2.2.1 Released, W/ Bug Fixes
« Reply #24 on: February 07, 2006, 07:30:51 AM »
really nice ASCII art, Haxtor. I agree: everything that belongs to one map should immediately be visible when switching to the map.

My mouse wheels work with the mapper afair.