Author Topic: Mutants......  (Read 2642 times)

Offline zigzagjoe

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 626
Mutants......
« on: May 23, 2005, 05:42:54 PM »
Somehow, i have managed to create mutant combat vechs.   :blink:  :blink:  :blink:

Freaks...


Ex.

Tigers w/ std turret
Lynx/Panthers w/ dbl turret.....

 :blink:

It is probly a game bug by what we have figured out so far. It only appears to happen w/ 'nonexistant' players, and does not work w/ fixed values. (test this from debug menu) (press 'D' on main menu, go to 'Run Script' and select the this dll.) i have just observed a werid 'turret swapping' going on.

WARNING!!! This will crash. It may take a few (1-30 probly) seconds to crash, or it may crash instantly.  :huh:






Freak #1
Freak #2
 
« Last Edit: May 23, 2005, 06:24:17 PM by zigzagjoe »

Offline Betaray

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2897
Mutants......
« Reply #1 on: May 23, 2005, 07:33:44 PM »
I knew eventually we would make that possible

good job
I am the nincompoop, I eat atomic bombs for breakfest, fusion bombs for lunch, and anti-matter bombs for dinner

I just hope they don't explode

Offline Leviathan

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4055
Mutants......
« Reply #2 on: May 23, 2005, 07:47:27 PM »
Also by creating a full tech sheets you can enable  all weps for all players. Like a laser for plymouth would have brown plymouth base but grey eden top for laser.

Dual turrets on lynx here is cool :)

Offline zigzagjoe

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 626
Mutants......
« Reply #3 on: May 24, 2005, 07:19:41 AM »
:heh: Keep in mind this is just a werid outcome. :blink: It is not likly that it'll actually be put into the game. So far, we don't really know why it is doing this. Those vecs were generated by a random script that should've given a valid result, but didn't.

Offline Hooman

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4954
Mutants......
« Reply #4 on: May 24, 2005, 05:13:35 PM »
I've found previously that you can control the dual-turretness with a single bit. I played around with dual turret GPs. I think it worked for vehicles too. I've just been plotting ways to figure out how to make this a researchable thing. It might actually be possible without any exe mods, but it would require overwriting certain memory locations. Hmm, do you think dual turret panthers would actually make them somewhat more useful? (Dual turret lynxes just seems too cheap). Anyways, I've always figured you should have a dual turret GP upgrade. GPs are much too useless.


Btw, nice job. Any chance I can see the source that caused that?
 
« Last Edit: May 24, 2005, 05:14:30 PM by Hooman »

Offline Eddy-B

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1186
    • http://www.eddy-b.com
Mutants......
« Reply #5 on: May 24, 2005, 06:04:27 PM »
I'll give it a try ...
Rule #1:  Eddy is always right
Rule #2: If you think he's wrong, see rule #1
--------------------

Outpost : Renegades - Eddy-B.com - Electronics Pit[/siz

Offline Eddy-B

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1186
    • http://www.eddy-b.com
Mutants......
« Reply #6 on: May 24, 2005, 06:24:53 PM »
Code: [Select]
int InitProc()
{
 int cnt,i,j,type,weapon,x,y;
 Unit u;

  for (cnt=0; cnt<TethysGame::NoPlayers(); ++cnt)
  {
   _player[cnt].CenterViewOn(159,127);
  }

  for (i=0; i<60; ++i)
  {
   for (j=0; j<TethysGame::NoPlayers(); ++j)
   {
    do { type=TethysGame::GetRand(7)+1; } while (type<4);
    do { weapon=TethysGame::GetRand(74)+1; } while (weapon<59);
    x=TethysGame::GetRand(256)+31;
    y=TethysGame::GetRand(256)-1;
    TethysGame::CreateUnit(u,type,LOCATION(x,y),j,weapon,6);
    u.DoSetLights(1);
    u.DoMove(127,159);
   }
  }

  CreateTimeTrigger(1,0,1,"ExTrig");
  return 1;
}

void ExTrig()
{
}

How close did i get ?
:D


[EDIT]
You can improve your code by changing this:
Code: [Select]
type=TethysGame::GetRand(4)+4;
weapon=TethysGame::GetRand(15)+59;
also, put NoPlayers() into a variable, so you won't have to call the function everytime. Just call it once, and store it.
« Last Edit: May 24, 2005, 06:30:20 PM by Eddy-B »
Rule #1:  Eddy is always right
Rule #2: If you think he's wrong, see rule #1
--------------------

Outpost : Renegades - Eddy-B.com - Electronics Pit[/siz

Offline zigzagjoe

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 626
Mutants......
« Reply #7 on: May 25, 2005, 08:32:00 AM »
:blink: Pretty damn close eddy.

That is essentialy the same code. minor changes (ex. TethysGame::GetRand(256)-1 is inline w/ the func) and u forgot the (map_id) for type and weapon.


u.DoMove(127,159); is u.DoMove(159,127);


if we do make a thing to allow dual turrets, it should be only on gps imo. The combat vechs are pretty well balanced.

gj
« Last Edit: May 25, 2005, 08:35:30 AM by zigzagjoe »

Offline Eddy-B

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1186
    • http://www.eddy-b.com
Mutants......
« Reply #8 on: May 25, 2005, 03:07:20 PM »
please .. don't beat me up over details :P  i got all that from going thru the (4kB) "source" with a disassambler.  The inline GetRand functions have (in the dll code) been declared as temporary variables, so i thought you did this, but i guess MSVC did that for some reason.
The map_id: sorry.. it slipped my mind. They ARE just DWORDS - so it doesn't really matter much if they're declared as ints or enums. Basicly an enum = int

One thing i still don't get: WHY does it create "unnatural" tanks ?!  How come a mapLynx with a mapRPG turns out as a dual-turret.. anyone who can shed some light on that ?


BTW: don't know if u noticed, but it took me 20 mins to decode your source of only a few lines. I've seen a "request" somewhere on the forums for being able to get the c-source of the original dll's -> it IS possible :D i just need lots of time; and (as you've indicated) it's not 100% acurate .. i DO make mistakes..
Rule #1:  Eddy is always right
Rule #2: If you think he's wrong, see rule #1
--------------------

Outpost : Renegades - Eddy-B.com - Electronics Pit[/siz

Offline zigzagjoe

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 626
Mutants......
« Reply #9 on: May 25, 2005, 03:12:33 PM »
ya.....but it is incredibly odd that it made those. i have code now that does the same thing - abnormalitys, but i can't find any real difference between the two. odd....

Offline Eddy-B

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1186
    • http://www.eddy-b.com
Mutants......
« Reply #10 on: May 25, 2005, 03:29:42 PM »
well - the code crashes when a unit dies i think..
so it's useless the way it is now - i did not check the DescBlock .. did you set it correctly ?
« Last Edit: May 25, 2005, 03:34:19 PM by Eddy-B »
Rule #1:  Eddy is always right
Rule #2: If you think he's wrong, see rule #1
--------------------

Outpost : Renegades - Eddy-B.com - Electronics Pit[/siz