Author Topic: Hello From Southern Nevada  (Read 5806 times)

Offline coyclayton

Hello From Southern Nevada
« on: July 18, 2012, 11:13:29 PM »
Greetings to the board!  I was (am) a huge fan of OP1.  I have always been a simulation/software toy fan and found that OP1 struck a nice balance between macro and micro management.  Playing the game as a kid was also my fall from innocence when I discovered that most big game studios can and do lie about their products.

I've had it in mind for some time now to build an online version of outpost 1.   Given recent (2-3 years) advances in HTML5, Javascript, FOSS database and programming languages there is no technology reason why we couldn't create an OP1 reboot that is entirely browser based.

We would, of course, have the advantage of being able to correct all the crippling errors that were present in the original version while throwing some multiplayer  goodness in as well.

I am a full time developer with the skills, hardware, and network resources to make this happen.  While attempting to do this in the past I've found myself getting mired down in the minutia of game design.  As such the project(s) never really got off the ground as I'd expend my creative energy on the design and have nothing left to power through code.

I know this community needs another empty or idle project like it needs a hole in the head.   But if you folks could get excited about something like this, I'd be willing to put in some real development effort.  (Help on the development side would rock too!)

Offline Spikerocks101

« Reply #1 on: July 19, 2012, 01:31:12 AM »
Hello!

Well, honestly, we don't mind new projects, just we haven't been getting pumped about any new attempts in a while. You will get a fair bit of support (maybe just morale) for a project here, of course.

But yeah, welcome to the community. Our med centers have been idle for quit a while, so we lose some people here and there, but our nursery is always on :D