Author Topic: So... Where Do I Start?  (Read 2683 times)

Offline DartStriker

So... Where Do I Start?
« on: September 20, 2009, 11:54:47 AM »
Well, now that I sound completely ignorant, let me explain. I've sort of been ghosting the forums for a few years now, and recently got my own group of friends and my father back into outpost. But after playing all the maps over and over, and like I've read just about everywhere, I'm getting bored with them.

So a week ago I took up the task of starting to teach myself C++, which is going quite well, now... the problem is I want to contribute to the OP2 community. Of course I don't want to start of making a campaign game, but even starting with just a simple colony game is fine.

So, while browsing the forums, something hit me... there really isn't a definitive starting place for the beginner here, everything is sort of scattered and takes a lot of digging to find, so... let me just simply ask: Where is a good place to start?

Thanks. :)

Offline Hidiot

So... Where Do I Start?
« Reply #1 on: September 20, 2009, 01:32:58 PM »
I made a topic back when I started myself. Problem with that one is that it's kind of disorganized.

So far, in my own opinion, it's better to simply ask yourself what's the next step, search for answers regarding it on the forum and, if that fails, post a new topic, asking. You will probably end up asking quite a few things.
"Nothing from nowhere, I'm no one at all"

Offline Sirbomber

So... Where Do I Start?
« Reply #2 on: September 20, 2009, 01:45:18 PM »
That's good advice.  You've got the SDK, CodeBlocks or MSVC++, and a compiler?

Start off just kinda making a simple base with all the basics.  Looking at the various header files in the Include directory is a great reference.
"As usual, colonist opinion is split between those who think the plague is a good idea, and those who are dying from it." - Outpost Evening Star

Outpost 2 Coding 101 Tutorials

Offline DartStriker

So... Where Do I Start?