Author Topic: The Unit Cap  (Read 3839 times)

Offline Mcshay

  • Administrator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 404
The Unit Cap
« on: November 24, 2007, 01:43:03 PM »
I ran a few tests today to find the unit caps for each number of players:

Players --- Cap ---------- Total Units
1 ---------- 200 ---------- 200
2 ---------- 160 ---------- 320
3 ---------- 115 ---------- 345
4 ---------- 115 ---------- 460
5 ---------- 77 ----------- 385
6 ---------- 65 ----------- 390

This means that the total number of units allocated is the least for single player, and the greatest for four player. Also note that six player has the second largest total units.

However, each player is given 95 units less in six player than in two player.

It's also interesting to note that there is no difference between the per-player cap in three player and four player.

Offline Hooman

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4954
The Unit Cap
« Reply #1 on: November 24, 2007, 03:49:30 PM »
Hmm very interesting results.

How certain can you be that this is a per player cap though? Are you sure this isn't some sort of global cap? Also, map units that don't belong to either player could potentially have an effect here. Things like beacons, and disasters can take up unit records.

I've tried looking into this before, but never quite figured out all I wanted to.
 

Offline Mcshay

  • Administrator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 404
The Unit Cap
« Reply #2 on: November 24, 2007, 03:55:40 PM »
I only took into account human players, no mines or AIs, or any other variables. Each player had a cc, a vf, a tokamak, and a rcc.

I filled each player's base with scouts untill no more could be built for the first few tests; each player had the same number of units. Once I was certain that nothing I could do with the way I distributed those units could change my results (such as destroying a scout and trying to build one as another player), I finished the last few tests using only one set of units.

Offline Sirbomber

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3237
The Unit Cap
« Reply #3 on: November 24, 2007, 04:02:36 PM »
How many units can Outpost 2 support at once? A few thousand?
"As usual, colonist opinion is split between those who think the plague is a good idea, and those who are dying from it." - Outpost Evening Star

Outpost 2 Coding 101 Tutorials

Offline Hooman

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4954
The Unit Cap
« Reply #4 on: November 24, 2007, 04:13:16 PM »
Unit Limit Discussion

Seems to be a limit of 1023 currently. Including things like beacons and fumaroles.

 

Offline Sirbomber

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3237
The Unit Cap
« Reply #5 on: November 24, 2007, 04:23:04 PM »
But the real limit is 2048, which is double the soft limit (more or less).
"As usual, colonist opinion is split between those who think the plague is a good idea, and those who are dying from it." - Outpost Evening Star

Outpost 2 Coding 101 Tutorials

Offline BlackBox

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3093
The Unit Cap
« Reply #6 on: November 24, 2007, 04:55:23 PM »
2047

(0 has to be reserved for null / no unit).

At least in terms of the size of the bitfield given to units. The game is written so that unit creations > 1023 units will fail (which was probably an oversight, thinking the bitfield was one less than it is)

I assume the unit caps we are referring to in this thread, are the caps placed on the players and visible in the UI (the build button disappearing, etc when the limit is reached).

Furthermore -- this only applies to vehicles doesn't it. Not structures. (I could be wrong?)
« Last Edit: November 24, 2007, 04:56:36 PM by BlackBox »

Offline Arklon

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1267
The Unit Cap
« Reply #7 on: November 24, 2007, 05:21:01 PM »
Quote
Furthermore -- this only applies to vehicles doesn't it. Not structures. (I could be wrong?)
Yeah, this is vehicles only.

Offline Hooman

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4954
The Unit Cap
« Reply #8 on: November 25, 2007, 12:24:03 AM »
The build button on SF can also dissapear.
 

Offline Hidiot

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1018
The Unit Cap
« Reply #9 on: November 25, 2007, 02:49:44 AM »
Yep, there is also a build limit for buildings. Any chance these limits can be changed in the future?  :huh:  
"Nothing from nowhere, I'm no one at all"

Offline Hooman

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4954
The Unit Cap
« Reply #10 on: November 25, 2007, 02:51:29 AM »
That's what the thread I linked to was about. To summarize it, we don't know how to do it.

... yet.

 

Offline Sirbomber

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3237
The Unit Cap
« Reply #11 on: November 25, 2007, 08:44:45 AM »
Quote
That's what the thread I linked to was about. To summarize it, we don't know how to do it.

... yet.
Or (more likely) you and all the other higher-ups are secretly playing games of OP2 with no unit limit during your wild Friday night parties in the admin channel.
"As usual, colonist opinion is split between those who think the plague is a good idea, and those who are dying from it." - Outpost Evening Star

Outpost 2 Coding 101 Tutorials

Offline Freeza-CII

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2308
The Unit Cap
« Reply #12 on: November 25, 2007, 05:41:28 PM »
Quote
Or (more likely) you and all the other higher-ups are secretly playing games of OP2 with no unit limit during your wild Friday night parties in the admin channel.

Thats Sexy parties.  Get it right you noob :P.  

Offline Sirbomber

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3237
The Unit Cap
« Reply #13 on: November 25, 2007, 08:14:30 PM »
Quote
Thats Sexy parties.  Get it right you noob :P.
Wild usually implies sex? At least in all the good wild parties.
"As usual, colonist opinion is split between those who think the plague is a good idea, and those who are dying from it." - Outpost Evening Star

Outpost 2 Coding 101 Tutorials

Offline Hooman

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4954
The Unit Cap
« Reply #14 on: November 28, 2007, 10:50:31 PM »
I can now confirm (most) of your results. You do seem to have a slight issue with that one entry that didn't decrease.

Here is what I found in a table in the exe.


Vehicle Limits
---------------
# Players,  # Vehicles per player
1,  200
2,  160
3,  115
4,  90
5,  77
6,  65


Building Limits
----------------
# Players,  # Buildings per player
1,  250
2,  175
3,  100
4,  75
5,  50
6,  48


Mind you, this is when the build buttons dissappear. If you've already built the structure kits, or told the vehicles factories to produce a unit, but they haven't finished yet (or been deployed yet?), then the button still won't be disabled. So there is a small window of opportunity to build past those limits.


Btw, we might potentially have enough info now to change those limits.



And just think, Friday is right around the corner.  B)
« Last Edit: November 28, 2007, 10:51:31 PM by Hooman »

Offline Mcshay

  • Administrator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 404
The Unit Cap
« Reply #15 on: November 29, 2007, 03:52:28 PM »
Yeah, I was thinking that value was off. I most likely made the same game type twice in a row instead of decreasing the player count.

Offline Leviathan

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4055
The Unit Cap
« Reply #16 on: November 30, 2007, 05:19:36 AM »
Interesting results. Nice work. Im sure we would all love to be able to change the limit.

Offline Sirbomber

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3237
The Unit Cap
« Reply #17 on: December 01, 2007, 10:32:24 PM »
Cut it in half and see how people react.
Does anyone else feel like rhyming suddenly?
"As usual, colonist opinion is split between those who think the plague is a good idea, and those who are dying from it." - Outpost Evening Star

Outpost 2 Coding 101 Tutorials