Author Topic: Mapper Question  (Read 2418 times)

Fire Plague

  • Guest
Mapper Question
« on: April 10, 2008, 02:42:33 PM »
It states on the editor help tips that the "generate Code" button will create a file that you can use to (make a DLL?) for the maps walls, mines, etc. that you placed in it. what do you do with the .dat file it creates? do you use a programing coed with it or perhaps a compiler? if so, which one? Thx.

Offline Sirbomber

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3238
Mapper Question
« Reply #1 on: April 13, 2008, 08:14:54 PM »
My advice for using the "Generate Code" button is don't, since it doesn't do it very well.
If you decide to do it anyways, I think it just spits out unit placement. You'll have to do all the other parts of the mission yourself, using the SDK which is lying around somewhere.
"As usual, colonist opinion is split between those who think the plague is a good idea, and those who are dying from it." - Outpost Evening Star

Outpost 2 Coding 101 Tutorials

Offline Hidiot

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1018
Mapper Question
« Reply #2 on: April 14, 2008, 03:33:06 AM »
Yeah, it outputs a basic mission code that contains 1 line for each unit (including vents and ore beacons). Not really enough for a worthwhile mission.
« Last Edit: April 14, 2008, 03:33:27 AM by Hidiot »
"Nothing from nowhere, I'm no one at all"

Fire Plague

  • Guest
Mapper Question
« Reply #3 on: April 15, 2008, 08:33:49 PM »
That answers my question, Thanks. However, it dose raise another: how do I then create a map with my desired ore locations, starting buildings and turrets, supplies in those buildings, and resorces you'll need (like food) for a multi mission?

I have a good idea, but it works best to set these things up specificly for the level rather than wraping the level to the mold. Thanks agian. (thumbsup)  

Offline Sirbomber

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3238
Mapper Question
« Reply #4 on: April 16, 2008, 03:14:50 PM »
Learn C/++ and code the mission yourself.
http://wiki.outpostuniverse.net/SDK

Or, for easy navigation:
SDK Download: http://www.outpostuniverse.net/files/coding/op2_dllsdk.zip

If you need help getting started, come on IRC and ask around. I can probably help you with basic stuff.
« Last Edit: April 16, 2008, 08:59:05 PM by Sirbomber »
"As usual, colonist opinion is split between those who think the plague is a good idea, and those who are dying from it." - Outpost Evening Star

Outpost 2 Coding 101 Tutorials

Fire Plague

  • Guest
Mapper Question
« Reply #5 on: April 17, 2008, 02:35:12 PM »
Hmm. If I take this to a friend that can allready program a good deal, would you be able to post a reply to show him that spells out what needs to be done?

                                       On Second Thought:

Now that I think of it, what use is a turret that can't shoot or defend itself, and only attacks one space away. If said turret rebuilt itslelf or was cloaked from sensors or even to be seen at all by others untill detenation, it would be worthwile.

And a truck that is told to go and retreve rubble from a patch of rubble that only gets one load back and stops in the middle of the second run. Lazy hourly waged slacker.

Again there is the spiders that sit there and stare at an enemy get EMP gang beat and won't move untill it is inside the enemy's kill radious.

Or a garage that hast to be TOLD to exit vehicles ONE AT A TIME when it's getting it's brains shot out.

Perhaps the worst is a emp strikken unit that forgets what group he's in. shouldn't that be sent to him by the savants at the vehicle command center?

Offline Hidiot

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1018
Mapper Question
« Reply #6 on: April 17, 2008, 03:16:34 PM »
That's micromanagement for you (just like me) to enjoy!  :D
« Last Edit: April 17, 2008, 03:17:04 PM by Hidiot »
"Nothing from nowhere, I'm no one at all"

Fire Plague

  • Guest
Mapper Question
« Reply #7 on: April 22, 2008, 02:43:54 PM »
Micromanagement, Levels not working right, lack of programming, Im reminded of the old "Rail Tubes" map I sent in along time ago.


The idea was good but I've more about OP2 stratagies enough to know it needed some work done.
I have, however, fixed the terrain problems for stratagy, but you can still have a "Plimoth rush strike" without the turrets being added as they ought. :'(

If anyone wants to take up the progect I'll give them the layout of where they go.