Author Topic: Outpost 2 Game Launch Problem  (Read 309 times)

Offline lordpalandus

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 758
Outpost 2 Game Launch Problem
« on: April 10, 2019, 12:33:50 AM »
Hi...

Not sure what I did to get the game to here, but I have a weird issue. Every time I launch the game now (I had been launching the game fine for over a week now, and the game worked fine yesterday and didn't crash at all), I get to some kind of debug main menu. None of the buttons work and thus to exit the game I have to kill the process in task manager. I've tried:

1. Removing all lose .txt files. I have modded sheets files, and put them in a backup folder away from the game folder. No change.
2. I reinstalled the entire game, by extracting the .zip file to a new folder. No change.
3. I deleted my outpost2.ini file. No change.
4. I moved my save files out of the folder. No change.

Below is a screenshot of what I'm seeing.

As you can see it is a debug menu of some sort and even the placement of the menu/buttons is in the wrong place and using placeholder images. The only thing I can think of is that on some sites I cannot use right mouse button to open a new tab... but I can open a new tab if I right click my favorites bar. Only mentioning it as the issue may be related, remotely.
« Last Edit: April 10, 2019, 12:37:02 AM by lordpalandus »
Currently working on Cataclysm of Chaos, Remade.
Link to OPU page = http://forum.outpost2.net/index.php/topic,6073.0.html

Offline Hooman

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4763
Re: Outpost 2 Game Launch Problem
« Reply #1 on: April 10, 2019, 10:20:33 AM »
Curious, are your changes having local effects? Are you launching the game with a shortcut? If so, what is the target path? Both of the executable, and the working directory.

Offline lordpalandus

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 758
Re: Outpost 2 Game Launch Problem
« Reply #2 on: April 10, 2019, 11:33:40 AM »
Well I tried loading just the base game, in a separate folder, with a brand new outpost2.ini and the problem persists.

Not using a shortcut of any kind. Just launching the game from the Outpost2.exe executable binary.

Best guess is if I restart the machine, it will work again. Not sure why it will, but that is likely what will solve it.
Currently working on Cataclysm of Chaos, Remade.
Link to OPU page = http://forum.outpost2.net/index.php/topic,6073.0.html

Offline lordpalandus

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 758
Re: Outpost 2 Game Launch Problem
« Reply #3 on: April 12, 2019, 08:39:59 PM »
Yep, a restart of my machine fixed the issue.
Currently working on Cataclysm of Chaos, Remade.
Link to OPU page = http://forum.outpost2.net/index.php/topic,6073.0.html