Author Topic: New Op2 Multiplayer Server  (Read 14714 times)

Offline Harkonnen

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
New Op2 Multiplayer Server
« Reply #25 on: September 03, 2003, 09:54:31 PM »
When i tried to use my windows XP computer i got an error
it said ..
Run-Time Error '10057':
 then something about a socket....
plz tell me how to fix this

Harkonnen

Note: Please use the edit button to fix mistakes. Thanks.
« Last Edit: September 03, 2003, 09:58:23 PM by xfir »

Offline Harkonnen

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
New Op2 Multiplayer Server
« Reply #26 on: September 03, 2003, 10:17:53 PM »
If I take to long to log in at the log in screen it says that it can't connect to the server and to check my internet connection bnut i know that it works because if i do it quickly i can log in and chat as usuall
« Last Edit: September 03, 2003, 10:20:05 PM by Harkonnen »

Offline it2000us

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 351
New Op2 Multiplayer Server
« Reply #27 on: September 03, 2003, 10:43:52 PM »
Heres some suggestions that acouple of ppl and me have talked about in the chat thingy. Make it so that we can down size the damn thing and make it not always on top.

Offline Martynd

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 78
New Op2 Multiplayer Server
« Reply #28 on: September 04, 2003, 02:48:31 AM »
there are reasons it is full screen, and reasons its always on top, this may not be an issue in future versions, but for the time bieng it must stay

Offline Leviathan

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4106
New Op2 Multiplayer Server
« Reply #29 on: September 04, 2003, 06:43:29 AM »
ok heres my post
well done so far. wp etc
i personaly feal that even if it cant join or create games it dont matter, cuz games can b done by TCP/IP. All the system has 2 do is show the IP of each player and b able 2 copy it to clipboard easyly. this is what i planed to do when i was making a WON replacement
Are you writing this in Visual Basic?
suggestions:
add join/leave messages
add timestamps for messages
add simple status system, away/afk or online
on edit profile window make it recive ur current profile so u dont have 2 re-enter it all
make it skinable, if its VB i should b able 2 do it.
« Last Edit: September 04, 2003, 06:45:04 AM by Leviathan »

Offline Martynd

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 78
New Op2 Multiplayer Server
« Reply #30 on: September 04, 2003, 07:41:17 AM »
i have plans for all those, and i know how to do them as well

but theres a little thing whcih we call school that im stuck doing, i also have a job, and i also feel like sh*t a lot of the time recently and dont actully feel like working on it
but i promise you that wen i am not at work, or school, and when i m not actully depressed, i will infact make all those changes and more, the ability to start games will be present in futre versions

Offline OP2Patriot

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2227
New Op2 Multiplayer Server
« Reply #31 on: September 04, 2003, 07:36:03 PM »
I remember when martyn said it'd take practically forever to finish the server. Days later he said it would only take weeks. The fact that we almost have a server is enough to be excited over.



The Forbidden Outpost 2 Forum ... they don't want you to know about it.
Yell if the above link disappears.

Offline Harkonnen

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
New Op2 Multiplayer Server
« Reply #32 on: September 04, 2003, 09:11:53 PM »
Hey i got version 6.0 for the multiplayer client what are the differences?
 

Offline Martynd

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 78
New Op2 Multiplayer Server
« Reply #33 on: September 05, 2003, 03:16:43 AM »
should be version 0.60

o and sorry about the crash last nite, a user crashed the server last nite and i didnt get to reboot it till i got up

Offline CK9

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6247
    • http://www.outpost2.net/~ck9
New Op2 Multiplayer Server
« Reply #34 on: September 05, 2003, 08:58:34 AM »
so, what's the EPC?
CK9 in outpost
Iamck in runescape (yes, I still play...sometimes...)
srentiln in minecraft (I like legos, and I like computer games...it was only a matter of time...) and youtube...
xdarkinsidex on deviantart

yup, I have too many screen names

Offline OP2Patriot

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2227
New Op2 Multiplayer Server
« Reply #35 on: September 05, 2003, 01:26:10 PM »
Update: There was a non-IP game set up via the server a few minutes ago.



The Forbidden Outpost 2 Forum ... they don't want you to know about it.
Yell if the above link disappears.

Offline BlackBox

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3101
New Op2 Multiplayer Server
« Reply #36 on: September 05, 2003, 03:06:29 PM »
I have proven.

OK. Martyn's still working on the program.

The next major release, I will be hopefully doing the client again, so you can expect the development to go about 1.5x - 2x faster. (So all the workload is not on Martyn)

Also, I continue to look for a way to execute the program via the DLL calls (rather than using the input or lots of WM_COMMAND's to get it to do what we want)

 
« Last Edit: September 05, 2003, 03:13:55 PM by op2hacker »

Offline OP2Patriot

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2227
New Op2 Multiplayer Server
« Reply #37 on: September 05, 2003, 03:07:29 PM »
I have proven? What did you prove?



The Forbidden Outpost 2 Forum ... they don't want you to know about it.
Yell if the above link disappears.

Offline Martynd

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 78
New Op2 Multiplayer Server
« Reply #38 on: September 08, 2003, 02:31:23 PM »
well it can now create and join games with no bugs

now im just working on the extra stuff, eg participant lists,and displaying game status

but the imporatnt part of join and start is done

Offline Betaray

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2902
New Op2 Multiplayer Server
« Reply #39 on: September 08, 2003, 03:48:18 PM »
AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

btw, it says that im not running the most current version, does it update automaticly, or do I have to download it again?
« Last Edit: September 08, 2003, 03:51:08 PM by Betaray »
I am the nincompoop, I eat atomic bombs for breakfest, fusion bombs for lunch, and anti-matter bombs for dinner

I just hope they don't explode

Offline BlackBox

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3101
New Op2 Multiplayer Server
« Reply #40 on: September 08, 2003, 04:36:29 PM »
Yes. If there is a newer releasable version, the program will pop up and have you download the new one.

Dev test update as of today:

Martyn and I are abandoning the tests of today. The program got seriously messed when he bug fixed the code, and the server crashes when the game is closed.

He will try to fix it tomorrow, and we will go ahead again.

Offline Betaray

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2902
New Op2 Multiplayer Server
« Reply #41 on: September 08, 2003, 07:09:21 PM »
hmmm weard
I am the nincompoop, I eat atomic bombs for breakfest, fusion bombs for lunch, and anti-matter bombs for dinner

I just hope they don't explode

Offline Jake

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 63
New Op2 Multiplayer Server
« Reply #42 on: September 12, 2003, 11:57:51 PM »
Just so I know I'm not a dumb-dumb...we can't use the multiplayer server yet, right?  I installed it and got an ID then logged in, and it won't let me create a game.  On the messages thing it says it's fully supported for multiplayer, but still testing.  So I guess still testing  :P  

Offline Martynd

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 78
New Op2 Multiplayer Server
« Reply #43 on: September 13, 2003, 03:21:29 AM »
yea, we still testing

all the basic stuff works now 100%

you can make a game
have ppl join the game
then start the game

its being expanded to show things like participant lists and so on

xfir

  • Guest
New Op2 Multiplayer Server
« Reply #44 on: September 13, 2003, 09:17:58 AM »
Quote
Just so I know I'm not a dumb-dumb...we can't use the multiplayer server yet, right?  I installed it and got an ID then logged in, and it won't let me create a game.  On the messages thing it says it's fully supported for multiplayer, but still testing.  So I guess still testing  :P
Did you open the client directly? Or did you go through Outpost 2?

If you go through Outpost 2, hit the SIGS button and the Multiplayer Login box (for Martyn's server) should open.

If you go through the client, then you won't be able to start or join games.

Offline Jake

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 63
New Op2 Multiplayer Server
« Reply #45 on: September 13, 2003, 09:46:33 AM »
Yes, I go through the client directly.  When I try to connect through the SIGS button, it says to check my internet connection. :(

Offline Veno

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 90
New Op2 Multiplayer Server
« Reply #46 on: September 13, 2003, 12:16:44 PM »
I can't join or create games either. Even if i go through op2>sigs>etc. The first time i logged in it worked. But now i tried to login and it says to chekc my internet connetcion

Offline Martynd

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 78
New Op2 Multiplayer Server
« Reply #47 on: September 13, 2003, 02:06:03 PM »
the sigs button wont work unless you ahve downloaded the full install, and copied all the files to op2 directory as instrcted

if you just get the client update then it wont run from op2

Offline Jake

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 63
New Op2 Multiplayer Server
« Reply #48 on: September 13, 2003, 02:08:15 PM »
I DID download the full install, and put it in my OP2 directory.

Do DSL firewalls effect it?  I took mine down and it still doesn't work.

Offline BlackBox

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3101
New Op2 Multiplayer Server
« Reply #49 on: September 13, 2003, 04:38:33 PM »
Okay. try these fixes:

1) delete the snwvalid.dll from your system folder.

2) make SURE you put client.exe, and snwvalid.dll into your outpost install dir.

3) if you have any routers between the computer you will be using to log onto the server, and your net connection, set them so all packets that come on ports 15101, and 15102 go to that certain computer. If you can't route by port, set it so all packets from outpost.sytes.net go to that computer. Also, try shutting off ALL known firewalls.

4) Now open OP2, and click Multiplayer, then the internet (SIGS) button. The client should load after a brief pause. Try to log in as usual.

5) If you still can't log in, the reason could be because you have a dynamic IP, and the ISP changes your IP every time you send data to the net. Other reasons could be that your ISP's routers are confused by the data stream coming from the server, and don't know which computer to send it to. In this case, there is nothing you can do (you might try contacting your ISP to see if they can change it, what you'd have to tell them is "I'm trying to send and receive data from outpost.sytes.net on UDP ports 15101 and 15102, and it isn't working") Other than that, there is nothing you can do.
« Last Edit: September 13, 2003, 05:04:26 PM by op2hacker »