Author Topic: Site Admin Stuff 4 Noobs  (Read 1993 times)

Offline dm-horus

• Banned
Site Admin Stuff 4 Noobs
« on: February 25, 2006, 04:17:46 AM »
Im pretty good at designing basic websites but this whole css/blog/cms thing is really new to me. im hoping the site i keep working on will be a testbed for me to learn more, but im afraid there isnt much you can teach yourself from scratch. most support forums are pretty uptight about helping strangers so im hoping the experts at opu can give me some advice. im curious about a few things...

ive tried more than half a dozen cms's since i got my subdomain and i have decided that a complete cms with wysiwyg editing is easiest right now while im still learning. that being said, what is a good content management system? ive used mambo, nucleus, drupal, a bunch of others that weighed in under 5mb, and have settled with joomla, the spiritual successor to mambo. the admin area looks almost identical to mambo and the overall functioning seems to be the same. it seems that an internal political battle forced most of the core team of mambo to fork the code to create joomla. since it happened to recently, the two are almost exactly the same. i did notice that joomla is about 3-5 megs smaller and the problems i encountered in mambo were more easily resolved in joomla. which leads me to my other query: