Author Topic: Outpost 3 Alpha Testing Commencing  (Read 807 times)

Offline Zhall

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 152
Re: Outpost 3 Alpha Testing Commencing
« Reply #25 on: October 20, 2017, 09:34:34 PM »
The link should take you directly to the map in battle.net.

I don't think they can be formatted correctly on this site, so try these
http://kippurcatarts.com/outpost-3/

Outpost 3 is for lack of a better name.

StarCraft 1 got a "remaster" and so is age of empires 1. Perhaps Outpost 2 "remastered" would be better.

I don't really care, Outpost 2 Remastered seems good to me.

No one has played it since I played with fistoz, which has led me to back burner this project behind a ton of other ones.

As far as I'm concerned I completed the 1 month push because I got it to a playable alpha version.

It's important to remember that assets made for Starcraft 2 can be reused in UE4 or Unity. Not that I WILL be doing that anytime soon, but perhaps someone down the line will want to do that.

Pumping out awsome.

Offline Hooman

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4046
Re: Outpost 3 Alpha Testing Commencing
« Reply #26 on: October 21, 2017, 04:08:06 AM »
Quote
It's important to remember that assets made for Starcraft 2 can be reused in UE4 or Unity. Not that I WILL be doing that anytime soon, but perhaps someone down the line will want to do that.

That's good to know. People keep mentioning those two engines.

I'm kind of curious about the assets. Did you need some kind of conversion step? If so, how involved was it?


Offline Zhall

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 152
Re: Outpost 3 Alpha Testing Commencing
« Reply #27 on: October 22, 2017, 12:36:34 PM »
For sc2 i needed to run them through 3ds max 2011 inside of a windows xp virtual machine. This is intensive but the only way i found to work, and the export handle is really nice for sc2 so its worth it.

For unity its as simple as exporting as fbx.
Pumping out awsome.

Offline leeor_net

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1645
    • LairWorks Entertainment
Re: Outpost 3 Alpha Testing Commencing
« Reply #28 on: October 22, 2017, 03:25:45 PM »
Wanted to congratulate you on completing what you set out to accomplish. Well done!

Would love to see this more polished/completed/etc. Maybe one day when I have less on my plate (e.g., I get OPHD mostly or entirely finished) I can pick it up with a stand alone engine like Unity/UE4. :D
- Leeor
LairWorks Entertainment

Titanum UFO's

Offline Zhall

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 152
Re: Outpost 3 Alpha Testing Commencing
« Reply #29 on: October 22, 2017, 08:41:44 PM »
When you're ready to rock ill be ready.  Ive got the same plate issue :D
Pumping out awsome.

Offline Hooman

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4046
Re: Outpost 3 Alpha Testing Commencing
« Reply #30 on: October 23, 2017, 01:01:24 PM »
Quote
For sc2 i needed to run them through 3ds max 2011 inside of a windows xp virtual machine.

How come you needed to use a Windows XP virtual machine? Does the software you used only work on older versions of Windows? Can more up to date software do it? I assume there are upgrade costs with 3ds max.


I agree with leeor_net, it's quite impressive how you laid out that plan and then nailed it.

Offline lordpalandus

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 508
Re: Outpost 3 Alpha Testing Commencing
« Reply #31 on: October 23, 2017, 01:25:52 PM »
Well 3ds max 2011 requires either XP, Vista or Windows 7 (source = https://knowledge.autodesk.com/support/3ds-max/learn-explore/caas/sfdcarticles/sfdcarticles/System-requirements-for-Autodesk-3ds-Max-and-Autodesk-3ds-Max-Design-2011.html)

Its probable that he only has an XP virtual machine and thus why he used it. I believe he mentioned somewhere that he has a Windows 10 machine, and thus he'd need a different OS to use 2011 3ds max.
Currently working on Cataclysm of Chaos.

Offline Zhall

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 152
Re: Outpost 3 Alpha Testing Commencing
« Reply #32 on: October 24, 2017, 02:50:29 PM »
2011 won't run on windows 10, i tried believe me.
Pumping out awsome.