Author Topic: Coding question  (Read 2921 times)

Offline Exoduz

Coding question
« on: June 28, 2017, 10:23:46 AM »
Op2 source code is in all likelyhood destroyed and not available anymore, so i have a couple of questions reguarding that;
Did outpost 2 use some kind of game engine?
Seeing as decompiling and retracing all coding would be immence, would it be better to rewrite op2 in c++ or maybe c#?
What would you start with if you would like to begin, do you use a newer free game engine such as Garagegames Torque 2d engine?
What would be the most obvius thing you would start with in for example Visual studio?

I am asking this since i am new to coding and am really eager to learn coding.
If someone could point me in the right direction to how you should start from the beggining?

I´ve seen that many people here knows coding, and collaborating on a big project like op2 would be awesome, and in doing so we could get our own source code which later would be usefull for someone who wanted to make a sequal etc.
Or if we all would like to redo outpost 2 and make outpost 2.5 with better graphics, performance and gameplay among other things.

For me this is tempting, and i do know that many people have started and tried but ultimatly failed with making outpost 3 or outpost 2 HD etc, but you know, you gotta start somewhere.

Is there possibly a shared source code from the guy who started building OP3?

//Exo

Offline Hooman

• Administrator
Re: Coding question
« Reply #1 on: June 29, 2017, 12:33:00 PM »
Dreaming big is super fun. Though before getting too carried away about re-programming a new version of the game, there's something often overlooked that I'd like to point out.

Open up Outpost 2, and on the main menu, click on "About Outpost 2".

Human resources:
2 Directors/Designers
5 Programmers
20 Artists
2 Music/Sound people, plus an external company
27 Quality assurance people