Author Topic: Running at higher than 1080p Resolution  (Read 323 times)

Offline Kopernik

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Running at higher than 1080p Resolution
« on: March 14, 2017, 12:39:29 PM »
Sorry if this was posted before...I did a search and could not find anything specific to my problem.

Has anyone managed to run at higher than 1920x1080 resolutions?

I used to run the game full screen 1920x1200 but recently got a new monitor at 2560x1440. I have tried modifying the outpost2.ini with no luck the game will not launch at 2560x1440. No issues at 1920x1080.

Thanks! Glad to see a community still exists for one of my favorite childhood games.

Offline Vagabond

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 292
Re: Running at higher than 1080p Resolution
« Reply #1 on: March 15, 2017, 06:54:41 PM »
Kopernik,

Welcome to the Outpost Universe!

Unfortunately, I don't have any experience trying to play the game in greater than 1920x1080.

-Brett

Offline Arklon

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1111
Re: Running at higher than 1080p Resolution
« Reply #2 on: March 15, 2017, 07:06:55 PM »
I seem to recall people having crash issues when running at a resolution where the screen is bigger than the map (only really evident in the case of tutorial maps), but not just crashing no matter what...

Offline Kopernik

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Running at higher than 1080p Resolution
« Reply #3 on: March 16, 2017, 09:29:32 AM »
That being said I did some testing and I found some resolutions that did work. If you have a monitor that is higher than 1080P the following resolutions work.

2048x1152      Yes
2176x1224      Yes
2432x1368      Yes
2560x1440      No

These are my current settings that work fine. This resolution works in a window, but will not work if you change the MAXIMIZED=0 setting to a 1 to try full screen:

[GAME_WINDOW]
MAXIMIZED=0
H_SIZE=2432
V_SIZE=1368

Offline Hooman

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3734
Re: Running at higher than 1080p Resolution
« Reply #4 on: March 17, 2017, 03:40:23 AM »
I vaguely recall BlackBox saying something about the game crashing at high resolution. I've never had a high enough resolution monitor to encounter it myself.