Author Topic: One CHAP is Enough  (Read 435 times)

Offline leeor_net

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1650
    • LairWorks Entertainment
One CHAP is Enough
« on: May 28, 2017, 03:09:53 PM »
Was reading the Outpost manual and came across this:

Quote
ONE CHAP IS ENOUGH
A successful colony needs only one CHAP to provide sufficient air, so long as the interconnecting tubes actually link all structures tiles).

So... yeah, that may be true. But there's something to be said about redundancy -- imagine if the CHAP was damaged or disabled for whatever reason? By the time a new one was built the colony would have been totally starved of breathable air.
- Leeor
LairWorks Entertainment

Titanum UFO's

Offline Hooman

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4071
Re: One CHAP is Enough
« Reply #1 on: May 28, 2017, 04:11:32 PM »
If there is damage to your CHAPs and tubes, than having just one functional CHAP is enough, so long as the interconnecting tubes actually link all structures.  ;D

It's like how I tend to build extra nurseries, command centers, and structure factories in OP2. I don't really need them, but I like to have them.

Offline White Claw

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 607
Re: One CHAP is Enough
« Reply #2 on: May 28, 2017, 11:42:59 PM »
Haha. I remember killing my colonists (or maybe it caused them to evacuate to the surface) because I wanted to build into the deeper layers, which effectively shut down the main tube during construction and starved the first UG layer of supplies.

Offline leeor_net

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1650
    • LairWorks Entertainment
Re: One CHAP is Enough
« Reply #3 on: June 13, 2017, 07:13:41 PM »
That's why I always built a redundant air shaft. :D
- Leeor
LairWorks Entertainment

Titanum UFO's