Author Topic: Disable Aero Functionality Under Win 7?  (Read 24765 times)

Online Arklon

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1113
Disable Aero Functionality Under Win 7?
« on: May 19, 2012, 09:16:15 PM »
In Windows 7, if Aero is enabled, the game will stutter, even with a powerful computer - this can be remedied by checking "disable visual themes" and "disable desktop composition" under the compatibility tab in the properties window of Outpost2.exe, but that affects the system globally, and can mess up the way certain programs draw if they are also running. If I remember correctly, Aero did not cause stuttering in Windows Vista, so it must be something added to it in 7; maybe Aero Peek?

I did a little bit of looking, and it looks like the API for controlling Aero is largely undocumented, but I did come up with this:
http://huddledmasses.org/fun-with-pinvoke-and-aero-peek/
http://stackoverflow.com/questions/6450223...s-aero-peek-api

Would anybody be interested in taking a look at figuring out which component(s) of Aero is responsible for the stuttering, and adding code to op2ext to disable it for OP2?

Offline Hooman

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3765
Disable Aero Functionality Under Win 7?
« Reply #1 on: May 20, 2012, 05:17:47 PM »
Hmm, thanks for the info.

I don't have Windows 7, so I don't think I could develop this, but I would be interested in any results if someone else did. This would probably be a good candidate for a mod. If the mod works, and people find it useful, it could perhaps be included in op2ext.dll.
 

Offline Kayedon

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 382
    • http://
Disable Aero Functionality Under Win 7?
« Reply #2 on: May 22, 2012, 11:32:16 PM »
I don't notice this effect with Aero running on Windows 7.
"Trust me, I'm crazy."

Online Arklon

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1113
Disable Aero Functionality Under Win 7?
« Reply #3 on: May 23, 2012, 01:13:15 PM »
Quote
I don't notice this effect with Aero running on Windows 7.
What are your hardware specs?

Offline Kayedon

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 382
    • http://
Disable Aero Functionality Under Win 7?
« Reply #4 on: May 24, 2012, 07:56:11 PM »
Quote
Quote
I don't notice this effect with Aero running on Windows 7.
What are your hardware specs?
4 year old laptop, lol.

Intel C2D P8400 (2.2GHz)
Nvidia 9600M GT (512m)
6GB DDR3 RAM
Windows 7 Home Premium x64
« Last Edit: May 24, 2012, 07:56:36 PM by Kayedon »
"Trust me, I'm crazy."

Offline CK9

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6257
    • http://www.outpost2.net/~ck9
Disable Aero Functionality Under Win 7?
« Reply #5 on: May 25, 2012, 08:15:05 AM »
fullscreen or windowed?  I've noticed that, especially with some of the newer games, there is a huge difference in performance between windowed and full screen
CK9 in outpost
Iamck in runescape (yes, I still play...sometimes...)
srentiln in minecraft (I like legos, and I like computer games...it was only a matter of time...) and youtube...
xdarkinsidex on deviantart

yup, I have too many screen names

Online Arklon

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1113
Disable Aero Functionality Under Win 7?
« Reply #6 on: May 25, 2012, 12:22:55 PM »
Quote
fullscreen or windowed?  I've noticed that, especially with some of the newer games, there is a huge difference in performance between windowed and full screen
The reason fullscreen performs better than windowed for 3D games has no bearing on OP2, particularly because it uses GDI for drawing (except when in 256-color).

Offline CK9

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6257
    • http://www.outpost2.net/~ck9
Disable Aero Functionality Under Win 7?
« Reply #7 on: May 25, 2012, 03:57:40 PM »
My thought is that the screen might be having a conflict with windowed mode...
CK9 in outpost
Iamck in runescape (yes, I still play...sometimes...)
srentiln in minecraft (I like legos, and I like computer games...it was only a matter of time...) and youtube...
xdarkinsidex on deviantart

yup, I have too many screen names

Offline Kayedon

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 382
    • http://
Disable Aero Functionality Under Win 7?
« Reply #8 on: May 25, 2012, 07:22:12 PM »
I didn't even know there WAS a full-screen option for OP2. I've always run in a windowed mode. But yeah, OP2 wouldn't really be affected either way. Because of the way newer games are done, there is a huge difference. I can't recall the reason.
"Trust me, I'm crazy."

Offline CK9

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6257
    • http://www.outpost2.net/~ck9
Disable Aero Functionality Under Win 7?
« Reply #9 on: May 25, 2012, 07:32:47 PM »
Meh, all I know is that when I played Lord of the Realm 2 (came out somewhere near the same time as OP2) in windowed mode I sometimes would get strange visual artifacts.  Maybe it was something different (damn touchpad mouse...accidently clicked post mid-typing)
« Last Edit: May 25, 2012, 07:33:17 PM by CK9 »
CK9 in outpost
Iamck in runescape (yes, I still play...sometimes...)
srentiln in minecraft (I like legos, and I like computer games...it was only a matter of time...) and youtube...
xdarkinsidex on deviantart

yup, I have too many screen names

Online Arklon

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1113
Disable Aero Functionality Under Win 7?
« Reply #10 on: May 26, 2012, 11:27:46 AM »
Quote
My thought is that the screen might be having a conflict with windowed mode...
No, and it's not visual artifacts, just performance issues.