Author Topic: Moving Pictures  (Read 16894 times)

Offline RobbixTheBobbix

Moving Pictures
« on: August 24, 2011, 06:44:01 PM »
Project of mine I've been working on for a few months.

Youtube clip of demonstration

Google Code project where you can download the work in progress

Requires Java 1.6, might run in 1.5, haven't tried it. It's packaged on the Google Code page as an Eclipse project, so you can import it and have your way with it. Runs on windows, should run on linux and mac.

The video was recorded on my circa 2005 laptop where I'm doing the programming and it can run smoothly and a couple times faster than the nominal speed, despite Java. When I tried it at work, it ran at about 90% the nominal speed and was sketchy despite it being a more powerful circa 2008 machine.

Results may vary.

The interface will be kind of awkward until I get all the command buttons working - they're a fairly new addition.

* Left click units to select them.
* Left click a space to give a move command.
* Right click to deselect or cancel a unit placement command.
* Middle click the red command names on the edge of the screen to give commands.

uh....

Questions?

-----------------------------------------------
PS:

I don't know if there's going to much excitement about this as I've read about the repeated, crippling disappointments that have come from op2 clone projects in the past. I intentionally didn't post about it until I had gotten somewhere.

I have a habit of working on proofs at concept at work over lunch or just whenever I don't feel like working. I have PoCs concerning

* Map scrolling (current maps are only the size of the screen)
* Terrain editing and automatic tile annotation (related to map generation where tiles that go together have to be automatically selected)
* Tube connectivity <- works like a charm
* Networking (which is actually far-off, but I'm trying to think ahead structurally)
* More advanced pathfinding and automatic map annotation