Author Topic: How Is Opu So Responsive?  (Read 4446 times)

Offline op2rules

• op2rules.net
How Is Opu So Responsive?
« on: September 10, 2010, 07:29:42 PM »
Hey I figured I'd ask, as a web developer myself, I'd really like to know how outpost-universe.net loads up so fast. There doesn't appear to be any special optimization stuff running, so how the heck do ya get the pages do load up 3x faster than mine??
Checkout my website, op2rules.net. It has free games, software, and snappy guides. Oh and did I mention the uber friendly community forums?
Life to me is a simple game that I utterly win at.
 ^--- GD Text Generati

Offline Sirbomber

« Reply #1 on: September 10, 2010, 11:46:03 PM »
We have our own server.  I'm guessing you don't.
"As usual, colonist opinion is split between those who think the plague is a good idea, and those who are dying from it." - Outpost Evening Star

Outpost 2 Coding 101 Tutorials

Offline BlackBox

• Administrator
« Reply #2 on: September 11, 2010, 11:59:19 AM »
Yes, the server which this site is hosted on is a dedicated box on a very reliable, fast network (most people's websites are hosted in a "shared hosting" plan where you share a server with up to hundreds of other websites, or often times they have poor connections to their ISPs or just chose really poor ISPs to peer with in the first place).

In addition we use mod_deflate, this way all data is gzipped before it's sent to the client (if the client indicates that it supports it in the request header). This speeds up download time immensely (and saves bandwidth; however it does increase CPU usage somewhat).

Offline op2rules

• op2rules.net
« Reply #3 on: September 11, 2010, 02:23:58 PM »
So how does one support the costs of owning a dedicated box?

Or more directly what I'm asking is, how much would it cost to have a very basic minimalistic box on a fast connection?
« Last Edit: September 11, 2010, 02:26:42 PM by op2rules »