Author Topic: Troubleshooting Help  (Read 1942 times)

Offline Spacer123

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Troubleshooting Help
« on: November 14, 2008, 11:26:41 AM »
I have been trying to install Outpost, and am unable to because I have 64 bit Windows XP. Is there any way to fix this?
 

Offline Spikerocks101

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 720
Troubleshooting Help
« Reply #1 on: November 24, 2008, 09:43:45 PM »
ARE YOU STILL THERE??? Any who, my friend uses 64bit Vista andhe has a 86 bit program files folder (for 32bit programs). Do you have a 86bit folder as well as a 64bit folder (program files)? If so, you should be able to install it normally.
I AM YOUR PET ROCK!!!!!!

Offline Spacer123

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Troubleshooting Help
« Reply #2 on: December 13, 2008, 11:59:24 PM »
I have 64 bit XP, not Vista and no, I do not have an 86 bit program folder, unfortunatly. Any other suggestions?

Offline Spikerocks101

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 720
Troubleshooting Help
« Reply #3 on: December 14, 2008, 07:17:12 PM »
idk... so you just cna;t get it to work at all? do you play other 86 bit games like... well pretty much every game is 32 bit except crysis >_> i would have to ask my friend if he actually had a 86bit program files or he configed his computer to help...

why 64? you like 8gb ram :P

WAIT!!!! are you trying to play outpost 1 or 2??? becuase i think you need a program called "Dosbox" for outpost i but idk. and if you really need help, ask HOOMAN, god of the forums computer problems, and a very helpful fella...
« Last Edit: December 14, 2008, 07:19:23 PM by Spikerocks101 »
I AM YOUR PET ROCK!!!!!!

Offline zigzagjoe

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 630
Troubleshooting Help
« Reply #4 on: December 14, 2008, 11:49:29 PM »
yes, OP1 is a 16 bit program. no, "program files (x86)" is for 32bit programs - 16bit programs will not run in there (nor will it in any other place on a 64bit OS - have been running xp64 for going on 5 years)

you will need to either use dosbox (with windows 3.1) or something along the lines of virtual PC/vmware. the latter is preferable, due to much higher performance (though, it may not matter with op1)

Dosbox (with windows 3.1, sound drivers, etc installed)

you will need to modify the config to have

Code: [Select]
mount D <windows CD letter>:\

before "win" (the last line in the file)

when windows loads, run setup.exe on the CD.

of course you need to either have the op1 CD or iso image (mounted with daemon tools) to do this.
« Last Edit: December 15, 2008, 12:03:12 AM by zigzagjoe »

Offline Spikerocks101

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 720
Troubleshooting Help
« Reply #5 on: December 16, 2008, 10:46:22 AM »
i'm sorry, for a while i thought you wanted to play OP2, not OP1. try OP2, its just that much more fun and we have liveless people on the IRC (OP2 chat) waiting to play with you and others (like me :) so yeah.... can't belive hooman wasn't here first...
I AM YOUR PET ROCK!!!!!!

Offline Hooman

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4566
Troubleshooting Help
« Reply #6 on: December 17, 2008, 07:04:50 PM »
Err, I can.

I've never played OP1, I don't have any 64-bit OS, nor any 64-bit hardware, and I'm usually not the best person to ask for help on general computer problems, or compatability issues. I deal almost entirely with programming related things. If there's no compiler, assembler, or debugger involved, I'm probably not the best person to talk to.


Plus, hearing "86 bit" made me cringe and want to avoid this thread. There are x86 compatible CPUs, which include the 8086, 80286, 80386, 80486, Pentium (80586), .... That is, the chips who'se numbers end in 86. I should also point out that some of these chips are 16 bit (8086, 80286), while others are 32-bit (80386 and up), and then there are the newer 64 bit chips, that are more or less a continuation of this line.
 

Offline Spikerocks101

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 720
Troubleshooting Help
« Reply #7 on: December 17, 2008, 07:16:33 PM »
sorry, i forgot the x86 and thought it was called 86 bit, but i ment 32 bit with x86 >_> hopefully all works out for you spacer, and follow ziggy instruction and have fun with OP1 :P
I AM YOUR PET ROCK!!!!!!