Author Topic: Something I Did, Outpost 1 Install  (Read 1194 times)

Offline fallenleader

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 42
    • http://www.fallenangelsclan.com
Something I Did, Outpost 1 Install
« on: August 10, 2008, 11:13:23 PM »
First off, took outpost 1 and removed some files. so the disk was smaller.
second, got tired of having to manually copy files off disk to make game run without it.

decided to fix by working a version that can run directly off disk.
its only a beta, anyone interested and i'll megaupload it. its a 272mb iso. (thumbsup) i am very proud, for a days work.

apparently, just heard v1.5 is buggy. that sucks because i have both install AND run off disk versions of outpost done.  and i am about to finish a run off disk version of outpost 2. and build an install version. problem being the indeo codec. i am going to build a basic menu "autorun" off disk which gives you, install codec for movies and run game options.

i have done this before.

http://rapidshare.com/files/131246368/expa...d_beta.zip.html
« Last Edit: August 11, 2008, 05:24:06 PM by fallenleader »

Offline Mcshay

  • Administrator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 405
Something I Did, Outpost 1 Install
« Reply #1 on: August 11, 2008, 07:28:44 PM »
Nice.

About Outpost, it should be buggy because it was never completed. I generally consider all versions of Outpost buggy by default :P.

Offline fallenleader

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 42
    • http://www.fallenangelsclan.com
Something I Did, Outpost 1 Install
« Reply #2 on: August 11, 2008, 07:47:43 PM »
nice? my menu? Took a few days but gamemaker is easy to use.

Should i look for a different version of outpost? or is v1.5 the best of them?

besides, Ai always sucks. in any game. the games are for human vs human.
Is there a client still running for outpost? or is it just irc now?

Offline Sirbomber

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3174
Something I Did, Outpost 1 Install
« Reply #3 on: August 11, 2008, 10:06:15 PM »
OP1 never had any multiplayer.  And there is OP1.0, but that's even buggier than OP1.5, believe it or not.
And what's this about running OP2 from a disk? We already have a very nice, small, and friendly OP2 download that doesn't need a CD to run.
"As usual, colonist opinion is split between those who think the plague is a good idea, and those who are dying from it." - Outpost Evening Star

Outpost 2 Coding 101 Tutorials

Offline fallenleader

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 42
    • http://www.fallenangelsclan.com
Something I Did, Outpost 1 Install
« Reply #4 on: August 21, 2008, 07:24:47 AM »
point is to save hdd space. and keep movies/music.

all i need to do is see if the disks will read fast enough to run the games.
if it does, then who cares, i did something i thought of and it worked. me=happy however useless it might be. right?