Author Topic: Cms  (Read 2179 times)

Offline Leviathan

Cms
« on: September 18, 2006, 04:11:46 AM »
Who has had experience with using content managment systems? What one it the best?

Mambo, Joomla and there are others im sure.

I want to be able to make a few sites using these and make a custom skin for them then let other people admin them. Needs a menu so each page is linked to each other, should be able to add pages, post news etc.

And where can i get free templates, id rather not want to create my own as im not that experienced with it. There are a few free ones on the mambo site. Maybe some cms have more free templates than others?

Thx

Offline Sl0vi

Cms
« Reply #1 on: September 18, 2006, 10:57:48 AM »
Haven't tried any of them, but I know Mambo has some serious security issues, alot of webpages made with mambo have been hacked recently.
!!!YAY!!!

Offline dm-horus

• Banned
Cms
« Reply #2 on: September 18, 2006, 06:25:07 PM »
I have very extensive experience with mambo and joomla. I spent a few weeks downloading templates. Ive been a part of the Joomla community since it began and the Mambo community since the early days (Joomla is a fork of Mambo which formed when the Mambo dev team quit in protest to form their own CMS) and alot of the addons/templates/etc used to be totally free. But the new path of Mambo toward $$$ and business solutions has likewise steered the Joomla community in a similar direction. Now most modules and templates are only available for a fee and most of the information on working with both CMS's require you to register with a site and pay monthly fees. I have amassed a huge repository of Mambo/Joomla templates, modules, addons and scripts. If youre interested I would be happy to help you set something up.