Author Topic: Mapper With Compiler?  (Read 1225 times)

Offline HaXtOr

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 423
    • http://www.moogle.jertechonline.com/
Mapper With Compiler?
« on: April 11, 2006, 11:13:58 AM »
While editing a new map, I got this idea wondering if it is possible.

There is the generate code function. Could another option be added to compile the code. we could use some simple command line C++ compiler.
Another option could be to run this compiled map.

some things just dont look right in the mapper but look nice in the game, i have noticed.
I like to preview my maps every once and a while.

could use the /noshell option in op2 maybe?  copy world map to another name??

Offline BlackBox

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3103
Mapper With Compiler?
« Reply #1 on: April 11, 2006, 12:28:20 PM »
Yeah, I'll add that in sometime. However it's not super useful until the mapper can generate more useful code than it currently does.

Quote
some things just dont look right in the mapper but look nice in the game, i have noticed.
In what way? the code that manages the map and tilesets in the mapper is functionally identical to the code in the EXE that does the same. (Yes, we did study the EXE's code to see how it worked)

As for /noshell, there really isn't much use for that, you can't tell the game what map to load.

Offline zigzagjoe

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 630
Mapper With Compiler?
« Reply #2 on: April 12, 2006, 01:02:09 AM »
actually, a merger of the mapper and the ai-scripter would be the best of both worlds. althought i dont know how easy thatld be.  
« Last Edit: April 12, 2006, 01:02:47 AM by zigzagjoe »

Offline TH300

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1425
    • http://op3game.net
Mapper With Compiler?
« Reply #3 on: April 12, 2006, 06:48:40 AM »
sometimes its better to have seperate tools for small tasks than one big tool that can do everything together. I know that from experience.

Offline CK9

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6257
    • http://www.outpost2.net/~ck9
Mapper With Compiler?
« Reply #4 on: April 12, 2006, 07:59:41 AM »
lol, do I want to know, or is it just too far out there?
CK9 in outpost
Iamck in runescape (yes, I still play...sometimes...)
srentiln in minecraft (I like legos, and I like computer games...it was only a matter of time...) and youtube...
xdarkinsidex on deviantart

yup, I have too many screen names

Offline Jgamer

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 160
Mapper With Compiler?
« Reply #5 on: April 13, 2006, 08:08:18 AM »
However, when the AI-Scripter gets off the ground on actual AI, you should make a merging so this may end up something like... The Starcraft map-maker for example. As both projects actually compliment eachother

Offline BlackBox

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3103
Mapper With Compiler?
« Reply #6 on: April 13, 2006, 03:11:37 PM »
Well I was thinking of doing things more visually, where it would compile a DLL based off of the items on the map (as well as extra map 'objects' like starting locations, combat vehicle spawn points, etc).

However with Eddy's AI scripter, I don't know if I'm going to implement AI code (most likely not). Perhaps Eddy and I could work a deal, where you write AI routines in the scripter, where the code is then compiled into the code that the mapper generates.
Or vice versa, the mapper could generate code that the scripter can use.

So in effect, the mapper is used to do basics like unit placement and such, and the scripter would be used to write more advanced AI routines as well as triggers. (There will likely be little or no trigger support directly from the mapper, apart from disasters, basic victory conditions and such).