Outpost Universe Forums

Projects & Development => Projects => OutpostHD => Topic started by: leeor_net on July 05, 2018, 09:57:49 PM

Title: OutpostHD v0.7.6 Released!
Post by: leeor_net on July 05, 2018, 09:57:49 PM
OutpostHD v0.7.6 is now officially ready for release!

Much like in v0.7.5, there are many changes in this release.

This was primarily a bug fix release (as evidenced by the lengthy list of fixes) but also includes a new Mine Operations Window (makes managing mines a lot easier), changes the mechanics of Mines which are now exhaustible, can now be dug deeper (up to the maximum dig depth of the planet) and many other changes.

Another big thing -- this release has BREAKING CHANGES in the Savegame protocol -- old save games WILL NO LONGER WORK. I know, it sucks, I'm really sorry, I tried to avoid it for as long as I could but I had to update it because of how much changed between the versions and to avoid adding too much special case code for backward compatibility.

Anyway, without further ado...



What's New

What's Changed

Bugs Fixed

Gimme Gimme! Where do I get it?

Head over to the main thread (https://forum.outpost2.net/index.php/topic,5718.0.html) and look for the 'Current Build' section.



Many thanks and much appreciate to those who have helped by posting suggestions and assisting with code development! Couldn't have done this without your efforts!
Title: Re: OutpostHD v0.7.6 Released!
Post by: JetMech1999 on July 08, 2018, 06:49:44 PM
So, if I understand this correctly, we can now control what resources are extracted from the mine based on what the colony's resource needs are?  If that's the case, I like it.  That way I won't have piles of resources I don't really need a lot of, and can concentrate on getting what I do need.

Single-use robominers.....gonna take some getting used to.  I get the reason behind it, just going to have to step up my miner production, but that's cool.  So with them as the base, does that mean that when we want to drop down a level, we just click the button and down she goes?

Not going to be in a position to download the new version for a couple of weeks, but looking forward to seeing the new functionality.
Title: Re: OutpostHD v0.7.6 Released!
Post by: Hooman on July 10, 2018, 02:49:38 AM
Very good news. I'm pleased to see the continued progress.

Curious if you've been using code analysis tools to find any of these bugs. Some tools can scan for things like use after free, lack of null checks, or null checks after something has already been dereferenced.
Title: Re: OutpostHD v0.7.6 Released!
Post by: leeor_net on July 12, 2018, 10:02:16 AM
I've been using PVS-Studio as a static code analyzer as well as Visual Studio's built-in analyzer. Many of the bugs wouldn't be caught by a static analyzer because they would have no way of knowing whether a pointer was properly initialized -- the best they'd be able to do is determine if I'm checking that the pointer is valid before use which it would be but would become a dangling pointer if the object pointed to was suddenly freed. Most of them I discovered by considering what would happen if I tried to do things differently than I would expect... e.g., why would someone demolish a building if they're still inspecting it? But, it happened when I was doing some debugging and neglected to close a window. Whoops.

So, if I understand this correctly, we can now control what resources are extracted from the mine based on what the colony's resource needs are?

Exactly. In the Mine Operations Window there are four toggle buttons (will eventually change to check boxes) -- when they are toggled (down), that resource will be mined. If it's not toggled, the resource will be ignored (can be turned on and off at will).

Single-use robominers.....gonna take some getting used to.  I get the reason behind it, just going to have to step up my miner production, but that's cool.  So with them as the base, does that mean that when we want to drop down a level, we just click the button and down she goes?

Right. I wanted to make it a bit more challenging so much like Outpost 2, the Robominer becomes the facility. To extend a mine shaft, you click the Dig New Level button -- the mine will become inactive for 10 turns while the new shaft is dug out. The down-time is entirely debateable, I just picked an arbitrary number that felt challenging without being ridiculous.