Outpost Universe Forums

Outpost Series Games => Outpost 1 & Outpost General => Topic started by: leeor_net on May 28, 2017, 03:09:53 PM

Title: One CHAP is Enough
Post by: leeor_net on May 28, 2017, 03:09:53 PM
Was reading the Outpost manual and came across this:

Quote
ONE CHAP IS ENOUGH
A successful colony needs only one CHAP to provide sufficient air, so long as the interconnecting tubes actually link all structures tiles).

So... yeah, that may be true. But there's something to be said about redundancy -- imagine if the CHAP was damaged or disabled for whatever reason? By the time a new one was built the colony would have been totally starved of breathable air.
Title: Re: One CHAP is Enough
Post by: Hooman on May 28, 2017, 04:11:32 PM
If there is damage to your CHAPs and tubes, than having just one functional CHAP is enough, so long as the interconnecting tubes actually link all structures.  ;D

It's like how I tend to build extra nurseries, command centers, and structure factories in OP2. I don't really need them, but I like to have them.
Title: Re: One CHAP is Enough
Post by: White Claw on May 28, 2017, 11:42:59 PM
Haha. I remember killing my colonists (or maybe it caused them to evacuate to the surface) because I wanted to build into the deeper layers, which effectively shut down the main tube during construction and starved the first UG layer of supplies.
Title: Re: One CHAP is Enough
Post by: leeor_net on June 13, 2017, 07:13:41 PM
That's why I always built a redundant air shaft. :D