Outpost Universe Forums

Off Topic => General Interest => Computers & Programming General => Topic started by: UtopiaPlanetia on July 29, 2016, 02:20:58 PM

Title: How can I get Windows 3.11 and make it work with DOSBox?
Post by: UtopiaPlanetia on July 29, 2016, 02:20:58 PM
I want something similar to the Outpost 1 package (http://forum.outpost2.net/index.php/topic,5788.0.html), but for other Windows only games.
Title: Re: How can I get Windows 3.11 and make it work with DOSBox?
Post by: leeor_net on July 31, 2016, 07:59:14 AM
You could use the configuration I set up in that to run it but I kinda stripped down Windows 3.11 as far as I could.

I've run Win3.11 just generically using DOSBox to emulate an older machine. Then it's just a matter of getting an ISO of Windows and installing it in whatever method you need/want or you can probably also just get an already expanded dump. Win3.1 is shockingly simple in the way it configures itself.

Can grab an ISO from here: http://www.mywindowspage.com/download/os.htm

Using DOSBox you can mount the ISO to a CD-ROM emulation drive and install from there. I use the D-Fend Reloaded DOSBox GUI Front End to configure DOSBox with all of this, config files are kind of a pain to deal with.

Anyway, I set up the configuration at 55000 clock cycles (seems to run reasonably well like that), 64MB Ram and leave the rest pretty much as it is. Should run okay --

If you want a higher resolution than 640x480 at 256 colors, you'll want to set the video driver using the S3 SF (small font) drivers. 800x600 is usually the highest I go with that but it's up to you and what you prefer.

Another way to do this is using a VM (like virtualPC) and running a 32-bit flavor of Windows 95. In know Outpost1.5 ran just fine even on my Windows 7 32-bit setup (before I upgraded to Windows 10 64 bit, I almost hate myself for that).
Title: Re: How can I get Windows 3.11 and make it work with DOSBox?
Post by: lordpalandus on September 10, 2016, 10:30:39 PM
Or Grab "D-Fend Reloaded", and it can be set to always run at those settings. Much simpler if you intend to play DosBox games a lot.
Title: Re: How can I get Windows 3.11 and make it work with DOSBox?
Post by: leeor_net on September 11, 2016, 12:35:28 PM
^^^

Fair point, this is what I do with my large library of old DOS games.
Title: Re: How can I get Windows 3.11 and make it work with DOSBox?
Post by: havkyp on August 06, 2017, 02:10:38 PM
Not sure if there's any interest, but just in case Winworld has an extensive collection of old operating systems in including Windows 3.1x:

https://winworldpc.com/library